Tax Commissioner

The State Tax Commissioner oversees and manages the State Tax Division so that the laws concerning the assessment and collection of all taxes and levies are faithfully enforced.


Alicia Elam Clark
Executive Assistant to the Commissioner
(304) 558-0751

Mark Morton, Esq.
General Counsel
(304) 558-5330


Dale W. Steager was appointed Tax Commissioner for West Virginia by Governor Jim Justice January 16, 2017.

Dale E. Steager, Commissioner

Steager has more than 45 years of experience in the area of state and local taxes. He began his career with the State Tax Department in 1971 and later served as general counsel for the West Virginia Department of Revenue, a position he held until October of 2005 when he joined a Charleston-based regional law firm practicing in the areas of state and local tax.

Commissioner Steager graduated from West Virginia University in 1968 and from the West Virginia University College of Law in 1971. He has written for several tax publications of the American Bar Association and, for the last eight years, was the editor of the Guidebook to West Virginia Taxes published by the West Virginia Society of Certified Public Accounts.


Deputy Tax Commissioner


Connie Stinnett
Administrative Assistant
(304) 558-8351

Deputy Tax Commissioner

Lydia McKee is the deputy tax commissioner of the West Virginia State Tax Department. She most recently served as the Executive Program Manager for the agency. Lydia McKee, Deputy Tax Commissioner

Prior to her return to state government, McKee worked for international and regional accounting firms focusing on state and local taxes.

During her previous employment with the state, she served as Deputy Tax Commissioner and Deputy General Counsel for the State Tax Department.

McKee earned her bachelor’s degree in Business Administration and her law degree at West Virginia University.


Assistant Commissioner – Operations


Danny Morgan
Assistant Commissioner - Operations
(304) 558-0760

Assistant Commissioner – Operations

Danny Morgan is the Assistant Commissioner – Operations. He joined the agency in Spring of 2014 as Director of Operations. Danny Morgan

Prior to working at the Tax Department, he served in a similar capacity for several agencies in New York state government including the Department of Financial Services, Statewide Financial Systems and the Office of Victim Services.