CIT-139

WEST VIRGINIA CORPORATION APPLICATION FOR REFUND FROM CARRYBACK OF NET OPERATING LOSS INSTRUCTIONS

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

Use Form CIT-139 to claim a refund resulting from the carryback of a net operating loss to previous years. Losses arising from taxable years beginning after August 5, 1997 can be carried back two years and carried forward 20 years. A corporation may elect to carry forward a net operating loss instead of first carrying it back by attaching a statement to this effect on a timely filed return (including any extensions) for the year of the loss. Once this election is made, it is irrevocable for that tax year

CARES ACT

The CARES Act modified the NOL treatment of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017 (TCJA). These changes included waiving the carryback period in the case of a NOL arising in a taxable year beginning after Dec. 31, 2017, and before Jan. 1, 2021 to allow for a 5-year carryback. NOL arising from outside of the designated periods should follow the rules defined in the next section. The limitation of the carryback to \$300,000.00 remains in effect in all cases. For more guidance related to this provision, refer to Administrative Notice 2021-17.

ILLUSTRATION: ABC Corporation, Inc. is a calendar year taxpayer. The company incurs a \$350,000.00 Net Operating Loss (NOL) in the year ending 12/31/2018. The loss limitation is \$300,000.00. Because the loss was incurred in a period covered by the CARES Act, the loss can be carried back for 5 years. Taxpayer had a \$75,000.00 loss for the 2013 tax period, \$150,000.00 for the 2014 tax period, \$100,000.00 each for 2015, 2016 and 2017 tax periods. The NOL Carryback would cover all of the 2013 and 2014 tax periods but only \$75,000.00 of the 2015 tax period. The remaining \$25,000.00 from 2015 tax period along with the 2016 and 2017 tax periods would not be covered by the NOL carryback from 2018. The remaining \$50,000.00 of loss can be carried forward until completely used.

LIMITATION ON NET OPERATING LOSS CARRYBACKS

Legislative changes made during 1993 (Senate Bill 463) limits the amount of net operating loss that can be carried back from any taxable year beginning after December 31, 1992. For taxable years beginning after December 31, 1992, taxpayers can carry back to the preceding taxable years no more than \$300,000 00 of net operating loss. Any amount remaining after the carryback may be carried forward.

ILLUSTRATION: XYZ corporation is a fiscal year taxpayer. For its tax period ending on June 30, 2020, it incurs a \$5 million West Virginia net operating loss. In each of its preceding 5 taxable years, XYZ corporation reported West Virginia taxable income of \$200,000.00. Under the changes from the TCJA, only \$300,000 00 of the loss may be carried back. \$200,000.00 can be carried back to the tax period ending on June 30, 2015 and \$100,000.00 can be carried back to the tax period ending on June 30, 2016. None of the loss may be carried back to the tax periods ending on June 30, 2017, June 30, 2018 or June 30, 2019. The rest of the loss, \$4,700,000 00, is available to be carried forward to tax years that begin after December 31, 2019, until used. There is no longer a cap on the carryforward period.

STATUTORY LIMITATION FOR FILING A CLAIM

Your claim for refund must be filed within 3 years from the unextended due date of the West Virginia Corporate Income Tax Return for the period in which the net operating loss occurred.

INTEREST PAYABLE ON REFUND CLAIMS WV CODE §11-10-17(E)(2)

Interest is not payable when a Corporate Income Tax refund check has been requested by the tax commissioner within 6 months of the date a claim for refund is filed.

SUPPORTING FORMS REQUIRED

To expedite the processing of the claim for refund, attach a signed copy of your West Virginia combined Corporate Income Tax Return (Form CIT-120) for the loss year. Do not attach Form CIT-139 to your original return for the year of the loss This will delay the processing of your claim for refund.

CHANGES DUE TO FEDERAL AUDIT ADJUSTMENTS

If you are filing this claim to adjust a previous net operating loss carryback that has now changed due to federal audit adjustments for either the year of the loss or the year to which the loss has been carried back, you must provide detailed information about the federal audit changes and how it affects the loss carryback.

WEST VIRGINIA CAPITAL LOSS CARRYBACKS

West Virginia law does not provide for a West Virginia capital loss carryback; however, West Virginia does allow federal adjustments to arrive at adjusted West Virginia taxable income and one of those adjustments would be a federal capital loss carryback. Therefore, West Virginia would allow the capital loss carryback at the federal level to arrive at adjusted federal taxable income. This method is different than the West Virginia net operating loss carryback which is computed separately for West Virginia. You should compute the capital loss carryback on Form CIT-120 marked amended.

NET OPERATING LOSS DEDUCTION WV CODE §11-24-6(D)

West Virginia Corporate Income Tax law allows as a deduction for the taxable year an amount equal to the aggregate of (1) the West Virginia net operating loss carryovers to such year plus (2) the net operating loss carryback to such year. A "West Virginia net operating loss deduction" is calculated in accordance with the provisions of Section 172 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended. For treatment of net operating loss carryovers in certain corporate acquisitions and for special limitation on net operating loss carryovers in case of a corporate change of ownership, Sections 381 and 382 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, apply.

For a multi-state corporation, the net operating loss deduction shall be made allocation and apportionment of the net income to West Virginia. The carryback shall be West Virginia net operating loss carried back to West Virginia taxable income.

The West Virginia net operating loss deduction is limited to net operating losses incurred by a corporation which performed business in West Virginia and filed combined Corporate Income Tax Returns in prior taxable years.

The amount of net operating loss deduction available to an affiliated group which elects for the first time to file a consolidated West Virginia Corporate Income Tax Return, for a taxable year ending after July 1, 1988, is limited to the net operating losses incurred by members of the affiliated group which did business in West Virginia and filed separate West Virginia returns in prior years.

A West Virginia net operating loss deduction will not be allowed for net operating losses of those members of the affiliated group which did no business in West Virginia in prior taxable years and were not required to file West Virginia Combined Corporate Income Tax Returns.

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2009, any taxpayer engaged in a unitary business with one or more other corporations shall file a combined report which includes the income, allocation and apportionment of income of all corporations that are members of the unitary group. West Virginia computes net operating loss on a post-apportionment basis. NOL's can only be carried backwards to be applied against the West Virginia source income of the combined group member to which it is attributable. NOL's that were incurred by an entity in a period in which the entity filed separately, cannot be used by other members of the combined group. There is an exception for NOL's earned when the taxpayer was filing on a consolidated basis. Those NOL's can be carried over and applied against the income of any former member of the consolidated group.

DO NOT USE THIS FORM IF YOUR WV FILING METHOD IS COMBINED. Combined filers must submit an amended CIT-120 to claim a refund from carryback of a net operating loss.

The separate return limitation (SRLY) rules set forth in Treasury Regulation §1 1502 apply in determining the allowable West Virginia net operating loss deduction.

When the SRLY rules apply, a member of an affiliated group's net operating loss carried forward from its separate return year can only offset that portion of the taxable income attributable to that member of the group.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS

- Line 1 Enter the year of the net operating loss.
- Line 2 Enter the amount of West Virginia net operating loss for the loss year
- Line 3 \$300,000 00

Line 4 Loss eligible for carryback.

COLUMNS (A) THROUGH (E)

Enter the appropriate figures for all lines after the loss carryback beginning with the oldest period.

- Line 5 Enter the Net Taxable Income as appropriate.
- Line 6 Enter the maximum amount of NOL Carried back to that year.
- Line 7 Subtract Line 6 from Line 5
- Line 8 To calculate the net income tax after the net operating loss carryback, you must refer to the original tax return. Recalculate the net income tax using the tax computation schedule included with your original return Attach the recalculation of the net income tax to this form.
- Line 9 You cannot use this form (CIT-139) if you still have net income tax due after the loss carryback and you are entitled to claim tax credits. An amended return must be filed in order to claim a carryback refund. You must recalculate the tax credit that you are eligible to claim after the loss carryback by using the appropriate tax credit schedule. Attach copies of both the original and amended tax credit schedules to the amended return. Please note on the amended return that it is being amended in order to claim a refund as a result of carrying back a Net Operating Loss.
- Line 10 Subtract line 8 from line 9.
- Line 11 Enter the net payments made. This is the sum of the total previous payments made for the taxable year less total previous refunds and carry forward credits (which cannot be changed).

Line 12 If line 11 is larger than line 10 enter that difference on line 12.

Line 13 Add lines 12(A) through 12(E).

If you have any questions about the West Virginia Corporate Income Tax or net operating loss deductions, please contact our Taxpayer Services Division at one of the following numbers:

Telephone: (304) 558-3333 or Toll free within West Virginia (800) 982-8297 TDD service for the hearing impaired 1-800-282-9833