
INSTRUCTIONS
Purchaser’s Use Tax is a tax on the use of tangible personal property or services in West Virginia where Sales Tax has not 
been paid. Use Tax applies to the following: internet purchases, magazine subscriptions, mail-order purchases, out-of-state 
purchases, telephone purchases originating out-of-state, TV shopping networks, and other purchases of taxable items.
For detailed instructions on the Schedule UT, see page 14.

Part I State Use Tax Calculation

1. Food purchases subject to state use tax........................................... $ x .03 $

2. All other purchases subject to state use tax....................................... $ x .06 $

3. Total State Use Tax (add lines 1 and 2 and enter on line 9)  $

Part II Municipal Use Tax Calculation
Municipal Code

(enter from table below) City/Town Name Purchases Subject to 
Municipal Use Tax

Tax Rate
(enter from table below)

Municipal Tax Due
(Purchases multiplied by rate)

4a 4b 4c $ 4d 4e $

5a 5b 5c $ 5d 5e $

6a 6b 6c $ 6d 6e $

7a 7b 7c $ 7d 7e $

8. Total Municipal Use Tax (add lines 4e through 7e and enter on line 10)  $

Part III Total Amount Due

9. Total State Use Tax due (from line 3).............................................................................................................. 9 $

10. Total Municipal Use Tax due (from line 8)..................................................................................................... 10 $

11. Total Use Tax Due (add lines 9 & 10 and enter total here and on line 21 of Form IT-140) 11 $

Residents of the following municipalities are subject to the municipal use 
tax. Enter applicable municipal code in line 4a through 7a and applicable 
rate in line 4d through 7d.

Municipality Code Rate
Williamstown 54232 .01
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INSTRUCTIONS:
You owe use tax on the total purchase price of taxable tangible personal 
property or taxable services (hereinafter called property) that you used, 
stored, or consumed in West Virginia upon which you have not previously 
paid West Virginia sales or use tax.

Examples of reasons you may owe use tax:

1. You purchased property without paying sales tax from a seller 
outside of West Virginia.  You would have paid sales tax if you 
purchased the property from a West Virginia seller.

2. You purchased property without paying sales tax for resale (to sell 
to others) or for a nontaxable use.  You then used the property in 
a taxable manner.

3. You purchased property without paying sales tax and later gave 
the property away free to your customers.

Part I.  State USe tax CalCUlatIon (includes purchases or lease of 
tangible personal property or taxable service made using direct pay permit)

Line 1 – enter total purchases of food and multiply by the tax rate.

Line 2 – enter all other purchases and multiply by the tax rate.

Part II.  MUnICIPal USe tax CalCUlatIon

You owe municipal use tax on the total purchase price of taxable tangible 
personal property or taxable services that you used, stored, or consumed in 
a municipality that has imposed sales and use tax upon which you have not 
previously paid sales or use tax.

For municipal tax paid in another municipality.  West Virginia sales and use 
tax law provides a credit for sales or use taxes that are properly due and paid 
to another state or municipality on property or services purchased outside of 
the State or municipality in which you are located and subsequently stored, 
used or consumed inside the State or municipality. The credit is allowed 
against the total of West Virginia state and municipal use taxes imposed on 
the same property or services purchased in the other state or municipality. 

Note: When the combined state and municipal taxes paid to the other 
state/municipality equals or exceeds the combined West Virginia state and 
municipal use tax, no entry is required on the, West Virginia Purchaser’s 
Use Tax Schedule (Schedule UT) to report the purchase or the credit for tax 
paid to the other state/municipality on the same purchase.  Example:  You 
purchase an item subject to tax in Ohio and pay 7% sales tax (6% state 
tax and 1% local tax).  You live in an area in West Virginia that imposes 
a 1% municipal use tax with the State rate 6%, for a total 7%.  You would 
not report the purchase on the schedule nor on your Personal Income Tax 
return since the combined rates are the same in Ohio and the city in West 
Virginia. 

The following example includes a situation a person may encounter with 
respect to West Virginia state, and municipal sales and use taxes, if they 
purchase items outside West Virginia or from a different municipality and 
are required to pay sales or use taxes to the other state and/or municipality. 
The example provides information on how to use the amount of sales tax 
paid to the other state as a credit against West Virginia state and municipal 
use taxes imposed and how to compute and report the West Virginia state 
and municipal taxes due.

You bring equipment into West Virginia for use in a municipality which 
imposes municipal sales and use tax.  You can determine the West Virginia 
state and municipal use tax as follows:

USE TAx – STATE
1.  Purchase price $10,000.00
2.  6.0% West Virginia State use tax 

($10,000 x .06) 600.00
3.  Less 4.0% sales/use tax paid to State B 

($10,000 x .04) (400.00)
4.  Net use tax due to West Virginia 200.00
5.  Measure of tax ($200 ÷ .06 tax rate) $  3,333.34
You should include the $3,333.34 in Part I, line 2 of the 
West Virginia Purchaser’s Use Tax Schedule.

USE TAx – MUNICIPAL 
1. Purchase price $10,000.00
2. 1.0% Municipality A sales/use tax ($10,000 

x .01) 100.00
3.  Less .5% sales/use tax paid to Municipality 

B ($10,000 x .005) (50.00)
4. Net use tax due to municipality A 50.00
5. Measure of tax ($50 ÷ .01 tax rate) $  5,000.00
You should include the $5,000 in Part II, line 4c-7c under 
appropriate municipality.

Line 4a – 7a – Enter the municipal code from the chart at the bottom of the 
schedule, page 13.

Line 4b – 7b – Enter the name of the municipality

Line 4c – 7c – Enter total purchases subject to the use tax.

Line 4d – 7d – Enter the tax rate from the chart at the bottom of the 
schedule, page 13.

Line 4e – 7e – Multiply total purchases by the tax rate and enter total.

Line 8 – Add lines 4e through 7e and enter total.

Part III.  total aMoUnt DUe

Line 9 – Enter total State Use Tax due (from line 3).

Line 10 – Enter total Municipal Use Tax due (from line 8).

Line 11 – Enter total Use Tax Due.  Add lines 9 and 10 and enter total here 
and on line 21 of Form IT 140.

If you calculate an overpayment of your Personal Income Tax on Form IT 140, 
simply deduct the amount of Use Tax due from the amount of overpayment 
by following the instructions for Form IT 140.  If your overpayment is 
reduced for any reason, the Use Tax will be billed separately from your 
Personal Income Tax account.




