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West Virginia Sales Tax Collection Requirements  

The purpose of this publication is to provide information regarding West Virginia sales tax responsibilities that 
may result from selling or leasing tangible personal property or providing taxable services in West Virginia.  Any 
person who willfully fails to properly collect and remit sales tax may be subject to fines or imprisonment or both.  
This publication is not a substitute for tax law or regulations. 
 

 

If you sell or lease tangible personal property or 
provide a taxable service in West Virginia, you are 
generally considered to be a vendor required to collect 
West Virginia Sales Tax on each sale, service or lease 
unless a statutory exception or exemption applies.  All 
sales, leases and services are taxable unless 
expressly excepted or exempted by law. The burden of 
proof that a sale is exempt from the tax rests with you, 
the vendor. You must collect tax on all taxable sales 
regardless of whether you make sales as an individual, 
a partnership, a corporation, a governmental agency or 
any other entity. Even non-profit organizations that are 
exempt from federal and state income taxes must 
collect West Virginia Sales Tax in many cases. 
 
You must keep accurate records that show all the 
information you need to prepare your returns and to 
verify their accuracy in case you are audited.  Your 
records must be geared to your particular operation 
and any recordkeeping equipment you use. 
Remember, the burden of proving that a sale is exempt 
from the tax rests with the vendor.  If you fail to collect 
tax you may be held personally liable for payment of 
the tax. 
 
As a general rule, you must state the sales tax 
separately from the sales price or other consideration 
for a sale or lease of tangible personal property or 
performance of a service. Typically, you should state 
the amount of tax on the invoice, receipt or billing 
document provided to your customer. Similarly, sales 
tax should be separately stated on your documents of 
original entry (like receipts, invoices, cash register 
tapes) and the supporting entries in your books of 
account. It is a crime for any vendor to represent 
directly or indirectly to the public that sales tax will be 
absorbed by the vendor or that the tax is not added to 
the sales price. 
 
Sometimes vendors will include tax in the overall sales 
price of items like movie tickets or a hot dog at a ball 
game. If a ticket or receipt is given to the customer, the 
ticket must either indicate the amount of tax collected 
or include the phrase “West Virginia Sales Tax 
included in price” or a substantially similar phrase. If a 
ticket or receipt is not given to the customer, a sign 
must be posted in plain view to customers that includes  
the phrase “West Virginia Sales Tax included in price” 
or a similar phrase. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
Example of Sign Posting 
 
“West Virginia Sales Tax Is Included In The Price 
Of The Products Sold Here” 
 
FAILURE TO COLLECT 
 
Any person required by law to collect sales tax and 
who willfully fails to collect the tax as required by law, 
is guilty of a misdemeanor, and, on conviction may be 
fined $100 to $500, or imprisoned, or both fined and 
imprisoned.  Each month or fraction of a month during 
which such failure continues is a separate offense and 
punishable accordingly. 
 
FAILURE TO REMIT 
 
Failure to remit more than $1,000— 
     Any person who willfully fails to remit the tax 
collected as required by law more than 30 days after 
the date the tax is due is guilty of a felony if the amount 
of tax not paid is $1000 or more.  If convicted, the 
violator may be fined $5,000 to $25,000, or imprisoned, 
or both fined and imprisoned.  Each month or fraction 
of a month during which such failure continues is a 
separate offense and punishable accordingly. 
 
Failure to remit less than $1,000— 
     Any person who willfully fails to remit the tax 
collected as required by law more than 30 days after 
the date the tax is due is guilty of a misdemeanor if the 
amount of tax not paid is less than $1000.  If convicted, 
the violator may be fined $500 to $5000, or imprisoned, 
or both fined and imprisoned.  Each month or fraction 
of a month during which failure continues is a separate 
offense and punishable accordingly.  
 
You may call a Taxpayer Service Representative 
between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. on business days:  
   
 1-800-WVA-TAXS  
 (1-800-982-8297) 
 

TDD (hearing impaired)  
1-800-282-9833 

 
 Internet:  www.wvtax.gov 
 

 

West Virginia State Tax Department 


