

SB-1 Small Business Property Tax Adjustment Credit

Instructions

This publication provides general information and is not meant to be a substitute for tax laws or regulations.

Small Business Property Tax Adjustment Credit (SB-1) is a refundable credit that is available to eligible small business owners(to help reduce their tax liability. The SB-1 credit is 50% of the West Virginia **ad valorem property tax** (on personal property) that was timely paid minus any Motor Vehicle Property Tax Adjustment credit already received. When the credit exceeds the total tax liability, the excess credit will be refunded to the taxpayer.

Any small business taxpayer may claim this credit against West Virginia state taxes if they meet the following requirements:

- The business has personal property in West Virginia with an appraised value of \$1 million dollars or less.
- The taxpayer must not hold interests in oil, natural gas, or be a public service company assessed by the state.
- All affiliates should be included in determining the appraised value of \$1 million dollars or less.

Please refer to TSD 456 if you have additional questions.

Completing the Small Business Property Tax Adjustment Credit (SB-1)

Business Identification

Line 1: Enter FEIN and Business Name

Line 2: (IF SOLE PROPRIETOR) Enter Social Security Number, First and Last Name

Line 3: Enter Address, City, State, and Zip Code

Read and answer the questions regarding eligibility to determine if you qualify to take this credit.

Property Tax Ticket Information

Line 4: List all Property Tax Tickets for which you were assessed. (Use additional SB-1 when more than 10 tickets)

Column 4A: Enter name of County listed on tax ticket

Column 4B: Enter the ticket number provided on the tax ticket. **Column 4C** Enter the assessed value provided on the tax ticket.

Column 4D: Enter the amount on the tax ticket.

Column 4E: Enter the amount paid on the tax ticket that was paid timely.

Line 5: Enter the total amount of column C.

Line 5E: Calculate by dividing the amount listed on line 5 by .6 to determine the aggregate value. Enter this amount. (

You are **not** eligible if over \$1,000,000)

Line 6: Enter the amount paid on time (Sum of column E)

Line 7: Enter the amount of credit claimed on the MV-1 (Eligible Amount Paid on Time)

Line 8: Line 6 minus Line 7 and enter the amount here

Line 9: Enter 1/2 of the amount reported on Line 8. This is the amount of credit allowed.