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SUBJECT: AVERAGE WHOLESALE PRICE OF MOTOR FUEL:  Notice 
of Determination of Average Wholesale Price of Motor Fuel for the period of 
January 1, 2009 to December 31, 2009 for purposes of the West Virginia 
Motor Fuel Excise Tax. 

 
 Section 11-14C of the West Virginia Motor Fuel Excise Tax Act imposes a motor fuel 
tax of five percent (5%) on the average wholesale price of motor fuel. That average 
wholesale price is required by statute to be determined periodically by the Tax 
Commissioner. The 5% component is one of two tax rate components comprising the Motor 
Fuel Excise Tax, and is known as the so called “variable component.” 
 

Public notice of the average wholesale price of motor fuel, as determined by the 
West Virginia Tax Department, must be issued by the Tax Commissioner at least thirty 
days in advance of the first day of January, each year, by filing notice of the average 
wholesale price in the State Register published by the Secretary of State, and by any other 
means the Tax Commissioner considers reasonable.  See W. Va. Code § 11-14C-5(b)(1). 
 
 Notice is hereby issued, in accordance with Section 11-14C-5 of the West Virginia 
Code, that the average wholesale price of motor fuel for the period beginning January 1, 
2009 and ending December 31, 2009, inclusive, shall be $ 2.34 per gallon for purposes of 
the West Virginia Motor Fuel Excise Tax variable component computation. 
 
 During the period beginning January 1, 2009 and ending December 31, 2009, 
inclusive, the West Virginia Motor Fuel Excise Tax variable component computed on a per 
gallon basis shall be $0.117 per gallon ($2.34 X 5 % = $0.117). 
 
 This average wholesale price per gallon ($2.34) and the variable component tax 
computed thereon ($0.117 per gallon) shall apply to all gallons of motor fuel sold, 
purchased or used in this State during the period beginning January 1, 2009 and ending 
December 31, 2009, inclusive, regardless of whether the actual purchase price of such 
motor fuel is more or less than $2.34 per gallon. 
 

 
     Christopher G. Morris 

Tax Commissioner 
 
     Issued:  November 25, 2008 


