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Form SEV-401T
West Virginia Annual Timber Severance Tax Return Instructions

The West Virginia Severance Tax is imposed on the privilege 
of engaging in or continuing, within West Virginia, the activity 
of severing, extracting, reducing to possession and producing 
for sale, profit or commercial use, any natural resource 
product or products. The amount of tax is determined by the 
application of a tax rate, to the gross value of each of the 
natural resource classifications.

Accounting Periods and Methods of Accounting: The 
taxable year and method of accounting are the same as that 
used for federal tax purposes.

Due Date: The annual tax return is due on or before the 
expiration of one (1) month after the end of the taxable year. 
The filing of this return is required whether or not any tax is 
due. If you are no longer in business, you must file a final 
annual return through the last date of business.

Extension of Time to File: The Tax Commissioner may, 
upon written request received on or before the due date of the 
return, grant a reasonable extension of time for filing the tax 
return, if good cause satisfactory to the Tax Commissioner 
is provided. An extension of time to file does not extend 
the time to pay taxes.

Periodic Installment Payments: If the estimated tax liability 
exceeds one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) per month, the 
tax is due on or before the last day of the month following the 
month in which the severance activity took place, except the 
installment for May, which is due on or before the fifteenth 
of June each year. If the estimated liability is less than one 
thousand dollars ($1,000.00), but more than fifty dollars 
($50.00) per month the tax is due in quarterly installments 
on or before the last day of the month following the quarter 
in which the severance activity took place. No installment 
payments are required if the annual remittance is less than 
$600.

Nonresidents: Every nonresident person who either directly 
or through the activity of others severs West Virginia timber 
which that person owns at the time that it is severed must 
give the Tax Commissioner written notice of intent to sever 
the WV timber identified in the notice. Nonresident is 
defined as either: (1) An individual who is a nonresident of 
this State for purpose of the WV Personal Income Tax; or (2) 
a person or corporation that does not have its commercial 
domicile in this State or did not have a permanent office in 
WV during the three months preceding the date of application 
for business registration.

The  nonresident timber operators must comply with the 

following before engaging in timber production in West 
Virginia: (1) obtain a business registration certificate;(2) 
obtain a forestry license;(3) give the Tax Commissioner 
written notice of intent to sever timber identified in the 
notice between thirty and ninety days before the timbering 
operation begins; and (4) at the time of the notice, prepay 
severance tax or post a cash bond or surety bond equal to 
four percent of the estimated gross value of the timber to be 
severed. This value may not be less than stumpage value.  
Forms and information can be found at www.tax.wv.gov.
Underpayment of Estimated Tax Penalty: Any person 
required to make monthly or quarterly payments of an annual 
tax who fails to make a timely payment or remits less than the 
required amount is subject to additions to tax as calculated 
on the underpayment of estimated  tax penalty worksheet. 
No additions are imposed if a quarterly taxpayer pays timely 
estimated tax equal to three-fourths (75%) or more of the 
actual tax liability. No additions are imposed if a monthly 
taxpayer timely pays estimated tax equal to eleven-twelfths 
(92%) of the actual tax liability. The amount of underpayment 
is determined to be the difference between the amount that 
should have been paid and that which was actually paid. 
The period of underpayment of an installment is from the 
due date of the installment payment to the earlier of either 
the due date of the annual return for that taxable year or the 
date upon which such portion is paid. The underpayment 
of estimated tax penalty worksheet and instructions may be 
obtained from our website www.tax.wv.gov.

Completion, Signatures, and Dates: All applicable sections 
of the tax return must be completed and substantiating 
documents attached. The Timber Severance Tax Return of a 
corporation must be signed and dated by the president, vice 
president, treasurer, assistant treasurer, chief accounting 
officer, or any other officer authorized to act on behalf of 
the corporation. The Timber Severance Tax Return of a 
partnership must be signed and dated by one of the partners. 
An individual’s name signed on the return is prima facie 
evidence that the individual is authorized to sign the return.

For additional information, please contact: 

West Virginia State Tax Department 
Taxpayer Services Division
PO Box 3784
Charleston, WV 25337-3784
(304) 558-3333 or toll free 1-800-982-8297
www.tax.wv.gov
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Who Pays the Severance Tax on Timber?

A person who has title to or an “economic interest” in the 
timber is responsible for paying the severance tax on timber. 
Even when the timber is cut or processed by someone other 
than the person who has title to the timber, such as by a 
contract cutter, the person who has an “economic interest” 
is responsible for paying the tax. The person who has the 
right to depletion, pays royalties to the landowner and has 
control over the sale of the timber is typically considered to 
have “economic interest” in the timber and is the person who 
is responsible for the severance tax. A person who is merely 
providing cutting services for another is not responsible for 
the severance tax.

How is the Tax Calculated?

Severance tax on timber is imposed on the “gross value” of 
the timber at the point the tree is cut and delimbed. Effective 
July 1, 2016, the tax rate is calculated by multiplying by the 
“gross value” by the tax rate of 1.50%. “Gross value” in 
the case of timber, means the gross proceeds of the sale 
if it is sold at the point it is cut and delimbed. In many 
instances there is not a sale of the timber at the point of 
cutting and delimbing. In these instances, the “gross value” 
can be determined in one of three ways:

1.	 Use of a value that corresponds closely as possible to 
the gross proceeds from the sale of similar products of 
like quality and character.

2.	 In the absence of such sales, the “gross value” may 
be determined using a cost basis. The value of the 
timber would be the sum of all costs attributable to 
the production of timber, including direct and indirect 
overhead costs and a reasonable mark-up on the 
timber.

3.	 Use of the percentage method. To apply the percentage 
method in determining the “gross value” subject to 
tax, the timber producer must find the activity that is 
similar to their situation, and apply the appropriate 
percentages to their gross proceeds of the sales.

Activity Percentages
A person who sells timber at the 
point where it is cut and delimbed. 100%

A person who cuts timber and takes 
to collection point in woods. 75%

A person who cuts timber and 
delivers to sawmill for sale. 50%

A person who cuts timber and pro-
cesses into other products. 25%

Credits Available
NOTE: Appropriate credit forms and documentation 
must be attached for processing of return. Forms may 
be obtained from our website at www.tax.wv.gov.

Annual Credit: Every taxpayer is allowed an annual credit 
of five hundred dollars ($500.00) against the tax due. The 
annual credit is applied at the rate of forty-one dollars 
and sixty seven cents ($41.67) per month for each month 
engaged in the business activity within the reporting period. 
Only one credit may be claimed by each business entity, and 
cannot exceed $500.

Manufacturing Investment Tax Credit
All taxpayers wishing to qualify for the Manufacturing 
Investment Tax Credit must file an application for such 
credit (form WV/MITC-A) on or before the due date of the 
Personal Income Tax return or Corporation Net Income 
Tax return filed for the tax year the investment was 
placed in service or use.

Manufacturers that make qualified investments for industrial 
expansion or industrial revitalization in WV may be eligible 
for the Manufacturing Investment Tax Credit. The term 
“manufacturing” means any business activity classified as 
having a sector identifier, consisting of the first two digits of 
the six-digit North American Industry Classification System 
code number, of thirty-one, thirty-two or thirty-three. Eligible 
investments include real property and improvements thereto 
and tangible personal property constructed or purchased for 
use as a part of a new or expanded or revitalized business 
facility of a qualified industrial taxpayer.

Eligible investments may also include replaced or refurbished 
buildings, equipment, machinery and other tangible personal 
property used in the operation of a qualified facility located 
in West Virginia. Eligible investment may also include real 
or tangible personal property acquired by written lease for a 
primary term of ten years or longer, if used as a component 
part of a new, expanded or revitalized industrial facility. The 
credit is equal to 5% of the taxpayer’s qualified investment 
pro-rated over a ten-year period at a rate of 10% per year.

Manufacturing Investment Tax Credit may be used to offset 
up to 50% of the taxpayer’s annual liability for, Severance 
Tax and Corporation Net Income Tax for a period of 10 
years. Any portion of a particular year’s annual credit that 
remains after application against these taxes for the taxable 
year is forfeited. 

Annual Timber Severance Tax Return

To complete the return:

PLEASE NOTE:  THESE INSTRUCTIONS ARE TO ASSIST YOU 
IN THE PREPARATION OF THE TAX RETURN.  THEY ARE 
NOT A SUBSTITUTE FOR TAX LAW AND REGULATIONS.

Schedule A

Enter the amounts of timber harvested for the entire taxable 
year.
Line 1 	E nter the total amount of sawed timber in 

board feet and the total gross proceeds of 
sale in dollars for the entire taxable year.
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Line 2 	E nter the total tons of harvested pulp wood 
and the total gross proceeds of the sale in 
dollars for the entire taxable year.

Line 3 	E nter the total amount of other timber products 
and the gross proceeds of the sale in dollars 
for the entire taxable year. Specify the type of 
product.

Schedule TC – Tax Credits
Line 1 	E nter the amount of Credit ($500 per year or 

$41.67 per each month engaged in business 
in West Virginia). Only one credit may be 
claimed by each business entity and must not 
exceed $500.

Line 2	E nter the amount of Manufacturing Investment 
Credit (MITC-1 must be attached).

Line 3	E nter total here and on Line 6 on page 1.

Tax Computations
Lines 1 – 4	E nter the Gross value of timber or the gross 

proceeds of your sales for the entire taxable 
year under the proper class code. (Multiply 
column 2 by column 3. Enter amount in  

Column 4. This is the taxable amount. Then 
multiply column 4 by the tax rate and enter 
amount in column 6.)

Line 5	S um Column 6, lines 1 through 4

Line 6	E nter amount from Schedule TC, line 3.

Line 7	 Line 5 minus Line 6. (If line 6 is greater than 
line 5, enter 0)

Line 8	E nter total payments made in the period 
covered by this return and any credit from 
prior year overpayments.

Line 9	 Line 7 minus line 8. If line 8 is greater than line 
7, enter 0 and skip to line 13.

Lines 10 – 12 	I nternal Use Only

Line 13	 Line 8 minus line 7. If line 7 is greater than line 
8, enter 0.

Line 14	A mount of Line 13 to be applied to next year’s 
return.

Line 15	A mount of Line 13 to be refunded. (Line 13 
minus line 14.)


