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BOT-301E 
InstructIons For AnnuAl BusIness And occupAtIon tAx return For electrIc power  

These instructions are to assist in the preparation of the tax 
return and are not a substitute for tax law and regulations.
To determine the amount of tax due Schedule A must be 
completed.

coMputAtIon oF tAx lIABIlItY
line 1 Enter the applicable amount from Schedule 

A, Line 11.
line 2a-d Enter the amount for each applicable credit. A 

copy of the certification for the Electric Utility 
Reduction Credit from the Public Service 
Commission and Windmill Credit must be 
attached to the annual return.

line 3 Enter total credits (Total of Lines 2a through 
2d).

line 4  Adjusted tax (Line 1 minus Line 3).
line 5 Enter exemption of $500.00 per year, $41.67 

per month, or $1.37 per day. This exemption 
is allowed only for the period you were 
actually engaged in business.   

line 6 Enter net amount of tax (Line 4 minus Line 
5).

line 7 Enter estimated payments made during 
period covered by the return.

line 8 Enter the balance of tax due (Line 6 minus 
Line 7). If Line 7 is less than Line 6, enter 0. 

line 9-11 Internal use only.
line 12 Enter total amount of Line 8.
line 13 Enter amount of overpayment designating 

refund or credit. Credit for overpayments 
should not be taken on future tax returns 
until a letter authorizing the claim has been 
received.

line 14 If an overpayment exists; enter the amount 
to be credited to next year’s tax.

line 15 Enter the amount of (Line 13 minus Line 14) 
to be refunded.

schedule A
Only use if electric power sold is generated or produced in 
West Virginia.
coluMn 1
line 3  Enter the annual gross generating capacity 

(KW) for electric power generated from Gob 
or Mine Refuse available for sale.

line 4a Enter the annual gross generating capacity 
(KW) for electric power generated or 
produced in West Virginia with sales and 
demand charges exceeding 200,000 
Kilowatts per hour/year/customer.

coluMn 2
line 3 Enter the amount of exclusions (Column 1 

Line 3 multiplied by 21/26)
line 4a Enter the amount of exclusions (Column 1 

Line 4a multiplied by 21/26)
coluMn 3
line 1 Enter the annual taxable capacity for electric 

power generated or produced in West 
Virginia regardless of place of sale.

line 2 Enter the annual taxable capacity for electric 
power generated or produced in West 
Virginia at desulfurization units on or after 
January 31, 1996.

line 3 Enter the annual taxable capacity for electric 
power generated from gob or mine refuse 
available for sale (Column 1 Line 3 minus 
Column 2 Line 3).

line 4a Enter the annual taxable capacity for electric 
power generated or produced in West 
Virginia with sales and demand charges 
exceeding 200,000 Kilowatts per hour/year/
customer (Column 1 Line 4a minus Column 
2 Line 4a).

line 4b Enter the amount of Kilowatts hours sold in 
Column 3 Line 4b.

coluMn 4
lines 1, 2, 3, 4–Tax Rates, provided
coluMn 5
line 1 Enter the amount of tax due for electric power 

generated or produced in West Virginia 
regardless of place of sale (Column 3 Line 1 
times Column 4 Line 1). 

line 2 Enter the amount of tax due for electric power 
generated or produced in West Virginia at 
desulfurization units on or after January 31, 
1996.(Column 3 Line 2 times Column 4 Line 
2).

line 3 Enter the amount of tax due after exemptions 
for electric power generated from gob or 
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mine refuse (Column 3 Line 3 times Column 
4 Line 3).

line 4a Enter the amount of tax due after exemptions 
for electric power generated or produced 
in West Virginia with Sales and demand 
charges exceeding 200,000 Kilowatts per 
Hour/Year/Customer (Column 3 Line 4 times 
Column 4 Line 4)

line 4b Enter the amount of tax due for Kilowatt 
hours sold (Column 3 line 4b times Column 4 
line 4b).

line 4c Enter the lesser of the tax of lines 4a or 4b.
line 5 Enter the gross amount of tax for Schedule 

A, Section 1 (Total of Lines 1, 2, 3, and 4c).

sectIon II
Only used if electric power sold in West Virginia was not 
Generated or Produced in West Virginia.
coluMn 1
line 6 Enter the number of kilowatt hours for electric 

power sold in West Virginia but not generated 
or produced in the State by taxpayer.

line 7 Enter the number of kilowatt hours for electric 
power not generated or produced in West 
Virginia with sales and demand charges 
exceeding 200,000 kilowatts per hour/year/
customer.

coluMn 2
line 6 Enter the amount of exemptions for electric 

power sold in West Virginia but not generated 
or produced in the State by taxpayer.

line 7 Enter the amount of exemptions for electric 
power not generated or produced in West 
Virginia with sales and demand charges 
exceeding 200,000 kilowatts per hour/year/
customer.

coluMn 3
line 6 Enter the net amount of Kilowatt hours 

(Column 1 line 6 minus Column 2 line 6).
line 7 Enter the net amount of Kilowatt hours 

(Column 1 line 7 minus Column 2 line 7). 
coluMn 4
line 6 & 7 Tax rate, provided.
coluMn 5
line 6 Enter the amount of tax due (Column 3 line 6 

times Column 4 line 6).
line 7 Enter the amount of tax due (Column 3 line 7 

times Column 4 line 7).
line 8 Enter the gross amount of tax (Schedule A 

Section II Column 5 line 6 plus line 7).
line 9 Enter the amount of credit for electric power 

generation tax paid to other states
line 10 Enter the net amount of Tax for Schedule A 

Section II (Column 5 line 8 minus line 9).
line 11 Enter the gross amount of tax (Schedule A 

section I plus Section II (Column 5 line 5 plus 
Column 6 line 10).

exclusions
Enter any exclusion claimed on the Schedule A for Column 
2 in both sections I and II.
Please be sure to answer all the questions on page 3 and 
sign and date the return.

payment of tax
The full amount of tax owed is due and payable on the due 
date of the tax return. Failure to pay the full amount of tax 
by the due date will result in interest and penalties being 
added to any unpaid amount of tax.

due date and extension of time for Filing Annual 
return: The annual return is due on or before the expiration 
of one month after the end of the taxable year. The Tax 
Commissioner may, upon written request received on 
or prior to the due date of the return, grant a reasonable 
extension of time for filing the tax return.  An extension of 
time for filing of this return is required whether or not any tax 
is due. An extension of time for filing does not extend 
the time for payment of the tax.

Accounting periods and Methods of Accounting: The 
taxable year and method of accounting are the same as 
that used for federal tax purposes.

Interest and penalties to tax: Interest and additions to tax 
attach by law to any amount of tax not paid by the due date 
of the tax return. The law requires the Tax Commissioner to 
establish interest rates for tax underpayment based on the 
adjusted prime rate. This rate will never be less than eight 
percent per year and is determined every six months.

Additions to tax: Additions to tax are imposed for 
failure to file a required tax return by the due date and/or 
late payment of the tax due. The rate for late filing is five 
percent (.05) per month or any part of a month; the rate for 
late payment of tax is one-half of one percent (.005) per 
month or any part of a month. An extension of time for 
filing does not extend the time for payment of the tax. 
Where both the five percent (.05) penalty for late filing and 
the one-half of one percent (.005) penalty for late payment 
of tax are imposed, the maximum monthly percent is five 
percent (.05) The maximum amount of additions to tax 
imposed under either penalty is twenty-five percent (.25). 
The maximum amount under both penalties is forty-seven 
and one-half percent (.475) of the tax due.
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completion, signatures, and dates: All applicable sections 
of the tax return must be completed and substantiating 
documents attached when required. The Business and 
Occupation Tax return of a corporation must be signed 
and dated by the president, vice president, treasurer, 
assistant treasurer, chief accounting officer, or any other 
officer authorized to act on behalf of the corporation. The 
Business and Occupation Tax return of a partnership must 
be signed and dated by one of the partners. An individual’s 
name signed on the return is prima facie evidence that the 
individual is authorized to sign the return. An incomplete 
return will not be accepted as timely filed. 

Assistance: For additional information, please contact the 
West Virginia State Tax Department, Taxpayer Services 
Division, P.O. Box 3784, Charleston, West Virginia 25337-
3784. To call, dial toll free 1-800-982-8297. Charleston 
and vicinity residents may call at (304) 558-3333. Internet 
address: tax.wv.gov. 

GenerAl InForMAtIon
The Business and Occupation tax applies to certain utility 
businesses, including businesses which generate, provide, 
distribute, or sell electric power. Municipally-owned electric 
power plants are exempt from tax. 
The measure of the tax is either the kilowatt hours of electric 
power generated or distributed, or taxable generation 
capacity.

tAx BAse deterMInAtIon
Electric Power Producers - The tax base for in-State 
producers is generally a fixed tax based upon average 
taxable generating capacity (kilowatts) for the 1991 through 
1994 calendar years. 
Taxable generating capacity is defined as a generating 
unit’s capacity factor (i.e., average four year generation 
divided by the unit’s maximum possible annual generation) 
multiplied by its official capability (i.e. nameplate capacity). 
Taxable generating capacity may also be mathematically 
expressed as the average four year generation (i.e., 1991-
1994) of a generating unit divided by the number of hours 
in a year (i.e., 8,760 hours). 
If the generating unit was newly installed after January 1, 
1991 but prior to December 31, 1994, then the average 
four-year generation is computed through the annualization 
of the average monthly net generation of such unit during 
its months of operation between 1991 and 1994. 
If a new generating unit, other than a peaking unit is 
placed into service after March 10, 1995, that unit’s taxable 
generating capacity equals 40 percent of its nameplate 
capacity.
If a peaking unit is placed in service after March 10, 1995, 
that unit’s taxable generating capacity equals 5 percent of 
its nameplate capacity. A peaking unit is a unit designed for 

the limited purpose of meeting peak demands for electricity 
or filling emergency electricity requirements.
If a generating unit is retired from service or placed in 
inactive reserve, the taxpayer is no longer liable for the 
tax on such unit. These units must be out-of-service for a 
period of at least 12 months in order to qualify for either the 
retired or inactive status.
If a generating unit produced electricity for sale to a plant 
location of a customer engaged in manufacturing activity 
and such sale exceeded an average of 200,000 kilowatts 
per hour between 1991 and 1994, then that generating 
unit qualifies for a partial exclusion from tax. This annual 
exclusion equals twenty-one twenty-sixths of the average 
annual kilowatt hours of electricity generated and sold to 
such customer between 1991 and 1994. Taxable generation 
capacity for such a generation unit must be split between 
average generation attributable to the large volume user 
and average generation attributable to all other uses. The 
large user exclusion is a fixed amount based upon average 
activity between 1991 and 1994. there is no additional 
exclusion attributable to current activity. However, an 
alternative kilowatt-hour tax calculation ensures that the 
total tax on taxable capacity attributable to large volume 
sales does not exceed an amount equal to $0.0005 per 
kilowatt hour. If a new 200,000 kilowatt per hour customer 
appears, there is no additional twenty-one twenty-sixths 
exclusion for the generating unit supplying power to such 
customer. However, such additional sale should result in 
no incremental increase in the fixed taxable generating 
capacity tax. 
A twenty-one twenty-sixths exclusion applies to generating 
units producing electric power and alternative energy forms 
from gob or other mine refuse.
The tax base (i.e., taxable generating capacity) already 
incorporates average exclusion values (1991-94 period) 
for separately metered power consumed in either an 
electrolytic process for the manufacture of chlorine or in the 
manufacture of ferroalloy. Therefore, there is no additional 
exclusion for current activity.
In most cases, the annual rate on taxable generating 
capacity is $22.78 per kilowatt. The rate of tax on generating 
units with a flue gas desulfurization system is $20.70 per 
kilowatt. 
effective July 13, 2001, the taxable generating capacity 
of a generating unit utilizing a turbine powered primarily by 
wind is to be equal to five percent of the official capability 
of the unit.
electric power distributors - The tax is based upon 
kilowatt-hours of electric power distribution.

deFInItIons
Average four-year generation is determined by dividing 
by four the sum of the generating unit’s net generation, 
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expressed in kilowatt hours, for calendar years 1991, 1992, 
1993 and 1994 for any generating unit which was newly 
installed and placed into commercial operation after January 
1, 1991, “average four year generation” is computed by 
dividing such unit’s net generation for the period beginning 
with the month in which the unit was placed in commercial 
operation and ending with the month of May, 1991, by the 
number of months in such period and multiplying the result 
by 12. This establishes a representative 12-month average 
of the unit’s net generation while in operational status.
capacity factor is a fraction, the numerator of which is 
the average four-year generation of the generating unit 
expressed in kilowatt hours, and the denominator of which 
is the maximum possible annual generation of the unit.
Generating unit means a mechanical apparatus or 
structure which through the operation of its component 
parts is capable of generating or producing electricity and 
is regularly used for this purpose.
Gross west Virginia electric energy generation means 
the total amount of electric energy produced by a generating 
station located in West Virginia without reduction for station 
use, company use, line loss or any other use, loss or 
deduction. Inactive reserve means removal of a generating 
unit from commercial service for a period of not less than 
12 consecutive months as a result of (i) lack of need for 
generation from the generating unit, or (ii) as a result of 
the requirements of State or Federal law, or (iii) as a result 
of any physical exigency which is beyond the reasonable 
control of the taxpayer. 
Kilowatt hours of electricity sold to consumers in this 
state that were not generated or produced in this state 
means total kilowatt hours of electricity sold to consumers 
located in West Virginia less net kilowatt hours generated 
or produced in West Virginia.
Kilowatt hours of net generation available for sale that 
was generated or produced in this state means gross 
West Virginia electric energy generation less station use. 
Kilowatt hours of net generation available for sale that was 
generated or produced in this State shall not be reduced by 
company use, line loss or any other use, loss or deduction, 
except station use.
line loss means loss of electrical energy by electrical 
resistance and electromagnetism occurring from or in 
electrical transmission lines or apparatus between any two 
points along such transmission lines or apparatus.

Maximum possible generation means the product, 
expressed in kilowatt hours, of official capability times 
8,760 hours.
net generation for the 1991-1994 historic period means 
the kilowatt hours of net generation available for sale 
generated or produced by the generating unit in this State 
during such period less:

(1) twenty-one twenty-sixths (0.8076923) of the kilowatt 
hours of electricity generated at the generating 
unit sold during the period to a plant location of a 
customer engaged in manufacturing activity if the 
contract demand at such plant location exceeds 200 
thousand kilowatts per hour of a year;

(2) twenty-one twenty-sixths (0.8076923) of the kilowatt 
hours of electricity produced or generated at the 
generating unit during the period produced by any 
person producing electricity and an alternative 
form of energy at a facility located in this State 
substantially from gob or other mine refuse;

(3) kilowatt hours of electricity generated and   sold or 
purchased and resold by a municipally owned plant; 

(4) kilowatt hours of electricity that are separately 
metered and consumed in an electrolytic process 
for the manufacture of chlorine; and 

(5) kilowatt hours of electricity that are separately 
metered and consumed in the manufacture of 
ferroalloy.

net kilowatt hours generated or produced in west 
Virginia means kilowatt hours of net generation available 
for sale that was generated or produced in this State.
Official capability means the nameplate capacity rating of 
the generating unit expressed in kilowatt hours.
peaking unit means a generating unit designed for the 
limited purpose of meeting peak demands for electricity or 
filling emergency requirements.
retired from service means the removal of a generating 
unit from commercial service for a period of at least 12 
consecutive months with the intent that the unit will not 
thereafter be returned to active service.
sale, sales or selling includes any transfer of or title to 
property or electricity, whether for money or in exchange 
for other property.
station or generating station means a station at which 
electrical generators, dynamos or other equipment or 
apparatus are used to convert mechanical, chemical, solar, 
geothermal, or nuclear energy into electrical energy. The 
term shall include, but not be limited to, those generating 
stations producing electrical energy by means of coal fired, 
gas fired, wood fired, gob fired, coal waste fired or waste 
fired electrical energy generation technology; and shall also 
include, but not be limited to, stations producing electrical 
energy by means of nuclear fission or fusion, magneto 
hydrodynamic, fluidized bed combustion, solar biomass, 
wind, fuel cell, steam turbine, fluid turbine, gas turbine, 
hydroelectric or pumped-storage hydroelectric electrical 
energy generation technology.
station use or plant use means that amount of electric 
energy used by a generation station in the production of 
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electricity and general operation of the generating station. 
The term “station use” or “plant use” includes the energy 
used for pumping water for purposes of providing stored 
energy at a pumped storage hydroelectric plant. “Station 
use” or “plant use” does not include company use or line 
loss.

AnnuAl exeMptIon
Each taxpayer shall be granted an exemption. This 
exemption is allowed for the period you were actually 
engaged in business. Monthly exemption is $41.67 or 
annual exemption of $500.00 Only one exemption may be 
claimed even though operations occur at more than one 
location.

tAx credIts
Description of several West Virginia tax credits that can be 
used to offset Business and Occupation Tax liabilities are 
given below. 
electric and Gas utilities rate reduction credit (WV 
Code § 11-13-3f)
Public utilities that provide electric and gas utility service at 
special reduced rates to low income residential customers 
for the billing months of December through April are eligible 
to claim the credit. The West Virginia Public Service 
Commission will determine the revenue deficiency resulting 
from the reduced rates, and certify the amount of allowable 
credit. 
However, the credit is first claimed against the West Virginia 
Business and Occupation Tax liability, then against West 
Virginia Corporation Net Income Tax liability. Any portion 
of credit remaining may be carried over to the next year’s 
Business and Occupation Tax liability and is applied before 

any other credit for that year. There is no provision for 
carryover to the Corporation Net Income Tax. 
windmill credit (WV Code § 11-13-2p) 
For taxable periods beginning on or after the first day of 
January, two thousand eight, a credit shall be allowed 
against tax imposed by this article and calculated based on 
the taxable generating capacity of a generating unit utilizing 
a turbine powered primarily by wind. The total credit shall 
be equal to the amount of qualified contractually agreed 
contributions as defined in this section. The amount of total 
credit shall be reduced each year by the amount of credit 
annually applied to reduce tax under this section.
economic opportunity tax credit (WV Code §11-13Q)

The Economic Opportunity Tax Credit is available to 
qualified businesses that make a qualified investment in 
a new or expanded business facility in West Virginia and, 
as a result of this investment, create at least twenty (20) 
new jobs. Qualified businesses include only those engaged 
in the activities of manufacturing, information processing, 
warehousing, non-retail goods distribution, qualified 
research and development, the relocation of a corporate 
headquarters, or destination-oriented recreation and 
tourism. The credit can offset a portion of the tax attributable 
to qualified investment for the Business and Occupation 
Tax (electric power generation taxes only), Corporation Net 
Income Tax, and Personal Income Tax (tax on flow through 
business profits only), in the order stated. All taxpayers 
wishing to qualify for the Economic Opportunity Tax Credit 
must file an application for such credit (form WV/EOTC-A). 
This application is due by no later than the due date of the 
Taxpayer’s Annual State Income Tax Return (corporate or 
personal) for the tax year the investment was placed into 
service or use, including lawful extensions of time to file.


