
TSD 446 

Charitable Gaming 

 
Bingo and Raffle events may not be conducted online or in-person in West Virginia without a license issued by the West    
Virginia Tax Division, unless it meets a qualified exemption. 
 
Any charitable or public service organization must have been in existence in West Virginia for at least two years to apply for a 
Bingo license or Raffle License unless an applicable exemption applies. Applications can be found online at tax.wv.gov. Initial 
applications require a 60-day waiting period for approval. Renewal applications are not subject to the same waiting period. 
 
No bingo or raffle event can be held until the applicant has an approved application and the charitable license. Persons under 

the age of 18 may not play or participate in the conduct of bingo games but are permitted to participate in raffles.  

Alcohol is prohibited from being a prize at a bingo or raffle event.  Alcohol can only be sold at a raffle event. 

Online Bingo and Raffle Events must comply with all the same rules that apply to in-person 
gaming.  

 
Eligible organizations wishing to conduct charitable bingo or charitable raffles online should 
know that a West Virginia charitable gaming license authorizes the games in West Virginia 
only. Persons are not permitted to play online if they are not physically located within West 
Virginia at the time they are playing. As a result, online gaming systems must use            
geo-fencing applications to restrict play to persons within the appropriate state. 

 
Organizations may pay a reasonable fee for access to an online gaming platform, but may 
not enter into a profit-sharing agreement or any other agreement where the payment for    
access to the platform is based on a percentage of gross revenues. All leases, contracts, 
or other agreements require the advanced approval of the Tax Commissioner. 

Raffle Exemption:  

A raffle event can be exempt from the licensing 
requirements if the organization has been in    
existence in the state for at least one year so long 
as the organization does not sell more than 
$15,000 worth of tickets in any calendar year and 
does not award any individual prize valued at 
more than $4,000. See W. Va. Code § 47-21-3. 

 
The West Virginia Tax Division can issue an 
“Exempt Certificate” to a qualifying organization if 
requested, but the organization is not required to 
have the certificate in order to hold the raffle 
event. 

Ineligible organizations include but 

are not limited to: for-profit           

organizations, any nonprofit          

association or organization which is 

organized primarily for the purposes 

of influencing legislation or            

supporting or promoting the       

campaign of any candidate for public 

office 
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For more information, 
you can: 

• Call a Taxpayer   
Services                
Representative at 
(304)558-3333 or 
toll-free at          
(800) 982-8297 

• Email 
taxhelp@wv.gov 

• Go Online to 
tax.wv.gov 

This publication provides general information and is not meant to be a substitute for tax laws or regulations. 

https://tax.wv.gov/Business/BusinessRegistration/Pages/BusinessRegistrationBingoAndRaffle.aspx
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