
 

 
The purpose of this publication is to provide general information regarding the filing and remitting of West Virginia 

income tax withheld.  This publication is meant to be a source of general information and not a substitute for tax laws 

or regulations. 

 
 

 
Due dates for returns and payments will closely follow 

the IRS schedule and will be as follows: 

 

When is payment due? 

who have two hundred fifty or more employees 

must file using https://MyTaxes.wvtax.gov/. 

 
Annual return is still required. 

 

 Income tax withheld in a given month must 

be remitted by all employers to the West 

Virginia Tax Department on or before the 

15th of the next succeeding  month. 

However, employers may remit income tax 

withheld the same day employees are paid. 

 
When is return due? 

 

 A return must be filed by all employers on or 

before the last day of the month following the 

end of each quarter, reporting income tax 

withheld and paid for the quarter. 

 The first quarterly return is due April 30th. 

 Employers who file a quarterly return for two 

hundred fifty or more  employees must file 

electronically at https://MyTaxes.wvtax.gov/. 

Employers who are required to file 

electronically but fail to do so are subject to a 

penalty of $25 per employee.  

 
Employers will receive forms from the State Tax 

Department. 
 

 Employers will receive a booklet containing 12 

remittance vouchers, one for each monthly 

payment that must be remitted to the West 

Virginia Tax Department. We encourage the use 

of https://MyTaxes.wvtax.gov/ to make these 

payments as opposed to sending the vouchers 

and payment through the mail. 

 

 Employers will receive quarterly returns separate 

from the booklet. Again, we encourage the use 

of https://MyTaxes.wvtax.gov to file these returns 

instead of sending them in the mail.  Employers 

 Employers must continue to file an annual 
reconciliation of West Virginia Personal Income 
Tax Withheld (Form WV/IT-103) on or before 
February 28 following the close of the year for 
which the withholdings are deducted and 
withheld, together with Tax Division copies of all 
withholding tax statements for that preceding 
calendar year. The reconciliation must be filed 
separately from the employer’s quarterly return. 
Visit www.wvtax.gov/withholdingTaxForms.html 
and choose WV/IT-105-Specifications for filing 
W-2 forms electronically. Employers who are 
filing for fifty or more employees are required to 
file pursuant to these specifications. FOR 
TAXABLE PERIODS BEGINNING ON OR 
AFTER JANUARY 1, 2011 ANY EMPLOYER 
WITH 50 OR MORE EMPLOYEES/PAYEES 
MUST FILE RETURNS USING ELECTRONIC 
FILING. 

 

 EXCEPTIONS: Employers who withhold less 

than $600 annually or employ certain domestic 

and household employees will continue to file the 

annual return and pay the withheld amount 

annually and are not required to file a quarterly 

return. For these employers only, the due date 

for the annual return remains January 31 of the 

succeeding year for which the withholdings are 

deducted and withheld. The annual  return  is 

form WV/IT-101A and will be available at  

www.wvtax.gov/withholdingTaxForms.html. 
 

You may call a Taxpayer Service Representative 

between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. on business days 

at: 

 

1-800-WVA-TAXS 
(1-800-982-8297) 

 
TDD (hearing impaired) 
1-800-282-9833 

 

Internet: www.wvtax.gov 

West Virginia State Tax Department 
TSD-428 
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