- West Virginia State Tax Department o
Publication TSD-416

(Rev. January 2012)

Waste Coal and Severance Tax

This publication provides general information regarding the application of severance tax on waste coal. Itis hota
substitute for tax laws or regulations.

Waste Coal

Coal wastes are a material by-product of coal cleaning operations and are deposited in a refuse or gob pile, slurry
pond, fines pond or other depository.

The relevant language of Section 11-13A-3e of West Virginia Code states that waste coal tax is imposed on “the
privilege of extracting and recovering material from refuse, gob piles or other sources of waste coal to produce coal.”

Application of the 2 cent per ton and 14 cent per ton coal taxes

Waste coal produced in West Virginia is subject to the 2 cents per ton special tax on coal production under W.
Va. Code §22-3-32, and the (currently) 14 cents per ton special coal reclamation tax under Section 22-3-11 of the W. Va.
Code.

Tax imposed only where Taxpayer is doing both (1) extracting and (2) processing

The waste coal tax applies to all persons extracting and recovering material from refuse, gob piles or other
sources of waste coal located in this state, and subsequently processing, washing and preparing this extracted and
recovered material to produce coal for sale, profit or commercial use, and the tax is in addition to all other taxes imposed
by law.

Extracting without processing

If gob is extracted and not processed by the severor, and then sold to another, either for further processing or not
for further processing, the gob sold is taxed as an “other natural resource” if it is not predominantly coal. Ifitis predominantly
coal, then it is taxed as run of mine coal at the regular coal severance tax rate.

Processing without extracting

If a Taxpayer bought uncleaned, unprocessed gob extracted by another, and then washed and processed the
material and prepared it for sale as coal, that Taxpayer would not be subject to the lower waste coal tax rate. The Taxpayer
would be a processor who purchased either “other natural resources” or run of mine coal, and processed the material
purchased into processed coal. The coal resulting from the processing would be subject to the regular coal severance tax
rate.

No tax on gob not sold

Under Section 11-13A-2(c)(5) of the W. Va. Code, if it is gob not sold, it is not taxable. The waste coal tax does not
apply to any electrical power co-generation plant burning material from its wholly owned refuse or gob pile.

Annual returns and quarterly estimates for waste coal tax

For waste coal produced or processed for tax years beginning on or after April 13, 2001, the applicable tax is two
and one-half percent (2.5%) of gross receipts, and the tax is paid and returns are filed annually on form WV/SEV-
401W, to report the total tons of waste coal produced, the county in which the waste coal is recovered, and the total gross
income received from the sale of the waste coal. Quarterly estimate returns (form WV/SEV-400W) are required for
reporting the two and one-half percent (2.5%) tax on the production of waste coal.

Waste coal tax is in lieu of two severance taxes

The West Virginia Code section 11-13A-3 five percent (5%) coal severance tax and the West Virginia Code
section 11-12B-3 seventy-five cents ($0.75) (i.e. 75 ¢) per ton minimum coal severance tax are not imposed on waste coal
that is taxed under the two and one half percent (2.5%) waste coal tax of West Virginia Code section 11-13A-3e.



Regular tax rate is applied to coal produced from gob prior to April 13, 2001

For waste coal produced or processed prior to tax years beginning on or after April 13, 2001, the applicable tax is
the greater of (4.65%) of gross receipts, plus the county share .035% additional tax or seventy-five cents ($.75) per ton.

Effective date, taxable activity, tax rate

For tax years beginning on or after April 13, 2001, the severance tax rate on coal produced from (1) the mining
and (2) processing of material from refuse, gob piles, slurry ponds, pond fines or other sources of waste coal istwo and
one-half percent (2.5%) of the gross value of the coal so produced, as shown by the gross proceeds derived from the sale
by the producer.

River Coal

Dredging of coal from a river will not be classified or treated as waste coal production for purposes of the waste
coal severance tax under W. Va. Code 811-13A-3e. Production of river coal is subject to the regular coal severance tax or
minimum coal severance tax, as applicable, and to other applicable taxes for coal production.

Coal that is dredged from rivers is typically coal that has been inadvertently spilled into the river from a barge or a
barge loading facility or conveyor. A minor portion of river coal may be the result of alluvial deposits derived from coal
stockpiles near rivers. Coal is not typically dredged from a river in order to extract coal from a natural coal seam that
happens to run under a river bed.

River coal is not typically the by-product of coal preparation and cleaning. It is typically either “run of mine” coal or
clean, post-processing coal spilled from a barge, dock or conveyor. It is not deliberately deposited in the river in the way
coal waste is deposited in a gob pile, fines pond or other waste coal depository.

Because (1) it is not a by-product of processing, and (2) it is not extracted by the dredging operation from a gob
pile or other depository of coal by-products, the Tax Department does not classify river coal as waste coal within the
meaning of the statute.
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