
‭IT-210 Worksheet‬
‭Underpayment of Estimated Tax‬

‭by Individuals‬
‭This publication provides general information and is not meant to be a substitute for tax laws or regulations.‬

‭Who Must Pay the Underpayment Penalty?‬
‭You‬ ‭may‬‭be‬‭charged‬‭a‬‭penalty‬‭if‬‭you‬‭did‬‭not‬‭have‬‭enough‬‭West‬‭Virginia‬‭state‬‭income‬‭tax‬‭withheld‬‭from‬‭your‬‭income‬‭or‬
‭pay‬ ‭enough‬ ‭estimated‬ ‭tax‬ ‭by‬ ‭any‬ ‭of‬ ‭the‬ ‭due‬ ‭dates.‬ ‭This‬ ‭may‬ ‭be‬ ‭true‬‭even‬‭if‬‭you‬‭are‬‭due‬‭a‬‭refund‬‭when‬‭you‬‭file‬‭your‬
‭return.‬ ‭The‬ ‭penalty‬ ‭is‬ ‭computed‬ ‭separately‬‭for‬‭each‬‭quarterly‬‭due‬‭date.‬‭You‬‭may‬‭owe‬‭a‬‭penalty‬‭for‬‭an‬‭earlier‬‭due‬‭date‬
‭(quarter) even if you make large enough payments later to make up the underpayment.‬

‭You may owe the penalty if you did not pay at least the smaller of:‬

‭1. ‭90% of your prior year tax liability; or
‭2. ‭100% of your prior year tax liability (if you filed a prior year return that covered a full 12 months).

‭Exceptions to the Penalty‬
‭You will not have to pay any penalty if either of these exceptions apply:‬

‭1. ‭You had $0 tax after credit for the prior tax year and meet ALL of the following conditions:
‭● ‭your‬‭prior‬‭year‬‭tax‬‭return‬‭was‬‭(or‬‭would‬‭have‬‭been‬‭had‬‭you‬‭been‬‭required‬‭to‬‭file)‬‭for‬‭a‬‭taxable‬‭year‬‭of‬‭twelve

‭months;
‭● ‭you were a citizen or resident of the United States throughout the preceding taxable year;
‭● ‭your tax liability for the current year is less than $5,000.

‭2. ‭The‬‭total‬‭tax‬‭shown‬‭on‬‭your‬‭current‬‭year‬‭return‬‭minus‬‭the‬‭tax‬‭you‬‭paid‬‭through‬‭West‬‭Virginia‬‭withholding‬‭is‬‭less
‭than‬ ‭$600.‬ ‭To‬ ‭determine‬ ‭if‬ ‭you‬ ‭meet‬ ‭this‬ ‭exception,‬ ‭complete‬ ‭lines‬ ‭1‬ ‭through‬ ‭5,‬ ‭PART‬ ‭I.‬ ‭If‬ ‭you‬ ‭meet‬ ‭this
‭exception, you do not have to file Form IT-210.

‭If‬‭you‬‭file‬‭your‬‭tax‬‭return‬‭and‬‭pay‬‭any‬‭tax‬‭due‬‭on‬‭or‬‭before‬‭February‬‭1,‬‭no‬‭fourth‬‭quarter‬‭penalty‬‭is‬‭due.‬‭Include‬‭the‬‭tax‬
‭paid with your return in column (d) of line 2, Part IV; this will result in no penalty due for the fourth quarter installment.‬

‭Special Rules for Farmers‬
‭If at least two-thirds of your gross income for the current year was from farming sources, the following special rules apply:‬

‭1. ‭You are only required to make one payment for the taxable year (due January 18 of each year).
‭2. ‭The‬ ‭amount‬ ‭of‬ ‭estimated‬ ‭tax‬ ‭required‬ ‭to‬ ‭be‬ ‭paid‬ ‭(line‬‭6)‬‭is‬‭sixty-six‬‭and‬‭two-thirds‬‭percent‬‭(66‬‭⅔%)‬‭instead‬‭of

‭ninety percent (90%).
‭3. ‭If‬‭you‬‭fail‬‭to‬‭pay‬‭your‬‭estimated‬‭tax‬‭by‬‭January‬‭18,‬‭but‬‭you‬‭file‬‭your‬‭return‬‭and‬‭pay‬‭the‬‭tax‬‭due‬‭on‬‭or‬‭before‬‭the

‭first day of March of each, no penalty is due.

‭Mark‬‭box‬‭10‬‭in‬‭PART‬‭I‬‭and‬‭complete‬‭only‬‭column‬‭(d)‬‭of‬‭Part‬‭IV‬‭to‬‭figure‬‭your‬‭penalty.‬‭When‬‭using‬‭Part‬‭IV,‬‭carry‬‭the‬‭entire‬
‭figure shown on line 8 of PART I to column (d), line 1.‬

‭Waiver of Penalty‬
‭If‬ ‭you‬ ‭are‬ ‭subject‬ ‭to‬ ‭underpayment‬ ‭penalty,‬ ‭all‬ ‭or‬ ‭part‬ ‭of‬ ‭the‬ ‭penalty‬ ‭may‬ ‭be‬ ‭waived‬ ‭if‬ ‭the‬ ‭West‬ ‭Virginia‬‭Tax‬‭Division‬
‭determines that:‬

‭1. ‭The penalty was caused by reason of casualty or disaster;
‭2. ‭The penalty was caused by unusual circumstances which makes imposing the penalty unfair or inequitable.

‭To‬ ‭request‬ ‭a‬ ‭waiver‬ ‭of‬ ‭the‬ ‭penalty,‬ ‭check‬ ‭the‬ ‭box‬ ‭for‬ ‭line‬ ‭9‬ ‭in‬ ‭PART‬ ‭I‬ ‭and‬ ‭enclose‬‭a‬‭signed‬‭statement‬‭explaining‬‭the‬
‭reasons‬ ‭you‬ ‭believe‬ ‭the‬‭penalty‬‭should‬‭be‬‭waived.‬‭If‬‭you‬‭have‬‭documentation‬‭substantiating‬‭your‬‭statement,‬‭enclose‬‭a‬
‭copy. The Division will notify you if your request for waiver is not approved.‬
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‭Part I - For All Filers‬
‭LINE 1‬ ‭Enter the amount from line 8 of Form IT-140.‬

‭LINE 2‬ ‭Add the amounts shown on lines 9, 16, 17, 18,‬‭and line 19 of Form IT-140.‬

‭LINE 3‬ ‭Subtract line 2 from line 1 and enter the result.‬

‭LINE 4‬ ‭Enter the amount of withholding tax shown on‬‭line 14 of Form IT-140.‬

‭LINE‬‭5‬ ‭Subtract‬‭line‬‭4‬‭from‬‭line‬‭3‬‭and‬‭enter‬‭the‬‭result.‬‭If‬‭line‬‭5‬‭is‬‭less‬‭than‬‭$600,‬‭you‬‭are‬‭not‬‭subject‬‭to‬‭the‬‭penalty‬‭and‬
‭need not file form IT-210.‬

‭LINE‬‭6‬ ‭Multiply‬ ‭line‬ ‭3‬ ‭by‬ ‭ninety‬ ‭percent‬ ‭(90%)‬ ‭and‬ ‭enter‬ ‭the‬ ‭result.‬ ‭If‬ ‭you‬ ‭are‬ ‭a‬ ‭qualified‬ ‭farmer,‬ ‭multiply‬ ‭line‬ ‭3‬ ‭by‬
‭sixty-six and two-thirds percent (66 ⅔%).‬

‭LINE‬‭7‬ ‭Enter‬ ‭your‬ ‭tax‬ ‭after‬ ‭credits‬ ‭from‬ ‭your‬ ‭prior‬ ‭year‬ ‭West‬ ‭Virginia‬ ‭tax‬ ‭return.‬ ‭Your‬ ‭tax‬ ‭after‬ ‭credits‬ ‭will‬ ‭be‬ ‭line‬ ‭8‬
‭reduced by lines 9, 17, 18 and 19 of Form IT-140.‬

‭LINE‬‭8‬ ‭Compare‬‭the‬‭amounts‬‭shown‬‭on‬‭lines‬‭6‬‭and‬‭7.‬‭If‬‭line‬‭7‬‭is‬‭zero‬‭and‬‭line‬‭3‬‭is‬‭more‬‭than‬‭$5,000,‬‭enter‬‭the‬‭amount‬
‭shown on line 6. Otherwise, enter the smaller of line 6 or line 7.‬

‭Part II - Annualized Income Worksheet‬
‭LINE‬‭1‬ ‭.‬‭Calculate‬‭your‬‭total‬‭income‬‭through‬‭the‬‭period‬‭indicated‬‭at‬‭the‬‭top‬‭of‬‭each‬‭column.‬ ‭Include‬‭any‬‭adjustments‬‭to‬

‭income in your federal adjusted gross income‬

‭LINE 3‬ ‭ANNUALIZED INCOME. Multiply the amount on line‬‭1 by the annualization factors on line 2.‬

‭LINE‬‭4‬ ‭WEST‬ ‭VIRGINIA‬ ‭MODIFICATIONS‬ ‭TO‬ ‭INCOME.‬ ‭Enter‬ ‭the‬ ‭full‬ ‭amount‬ ‭in‬‭each‬‭column‬‭of‬‭any‬‭modification‬‭to‬
‭federal‬‭adjusted‬‭gross‬‭income‬‭which‬‭would‬‭be‬‭allowed‬‭on‬‭your‬‭current‬‭year‬‭West‬‭Virginia‬‭Personal‬‭Income‬‭Tax‬
‭Return. Do not annualize this line. Be sure to show any negative figures.‬

‭LINE‬‭5‬ ‭WEST‬ ‭VIRGINIA‬ ‭ADJUSTED‬ ‭GROSS‬ ‭INCOME.‬ ‭Add‬ ‭lines‬ ‭3‬ ‭and‬ ‭4;‬ ‭annualized‬ ‭income‬ ‭plus‬ ‭or‬ ‭minus‬
‭modifications.‬

‭LINE‬‭6‬ ‭EXEMPTION‬ ‭ALLOWANCE.‬ ‭Multiply‬ ‭the‬ ‭number‬ ‭of‬ ‭exemptions‬ ‭you‬ ‭claimed‬ ‭on‬ ‭your‬ ‭return‬ ‭by‬‭$2,000;‬‭if‬‭you‬
‭must claim zero exemptions, enter $500 on this line.‬

‭LINE 7‬ ‭WEST VIRGINIA TAXABLE INCOME. Subtract line‬‭6 from line 5.‬

‭LINE‬‭8‬ ‭ANNUALIZED‬‭TAX.‬‭Use‬‭the‬‭tax‬‭tables‬‭or‬‭rate‬‭schedules‬‭to‬‭determine‬‭your‬‭tax‬‭on‬‭the‬‭income‬‭shown‬‭on‬‭line‬‭7‬‭.‬‭If‬
‭you‬‭are‬‭filing‬‭as‬‭a‬‭nonresident/part-year‬‭resident,‬‭multiply‬‭the‬‭tax‬‭figure‬‭by‬‭the‬‭ratio‬‭of‬‭your‬‭West‬‭Virginia‬‭income‬
‭to your federal income.‬

‭LINE‬‭9‬ ‭CREDITS‬‭AGAINST‬‭TAX.‬‭Show‬‭any‬‭credits‬‭against‬‭your‬‭West‬‭Virginia‬‭tax‬‭liability‬‭except‬‭West‬‭Virginia‬‭income‬
‭tax withheld and estimated tax payments.‬

‭LINE 10‬ ‭TAX AFTER CREDITS. Subtract line 9 from line‬‭8; if line 9 is larger than line 8, enter zero.‬

‭LINE 12‬ ‭REQUIRED PAYMENTS. Multiply the amount on‬‭line 10 by the factor on line 11.‬

‭LINE 13‬‭Enter the amounts from Line 12, Columns 1-3‬‭in each column on this line.‬

‭LINE 14‬ ‭Subtract line 13 from line 12. If less than‬‭zero, enter zero.‬

‭LINE 15‬ ‭Enter one-fourth of line 8, Part I, of Form‬‭IT-210 in each column.‬

‭LINE 16‬ ‭Enter the amount from line 18 of the previous‬‭column of this worksheet.‬

‭LINE 17‬ ‭Add lines 15 and 16 and enter the total.‬

‭LINE 18‬ ‭Subtract line 14 from line 17. If less than‬‭zero, enter zero.‬

‭LINE‬‭19‬ ‭REQUIRED‬‭INSTALLMENT.‬‭Compare‬‭lines‬‭14‬‭and‬‭17‬‭and‬‭enter‬‭the‬‭smaller‬‭figure‬‭here‬‭and‬‭on‬‭line‬‭1,‬‭Part‬‭IV‬‭of‬
‭Form IT-210.‬
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‭Part III - Short Method‬
‭You may use the short method to figure your penalty only if:‬

‭1.‬ ‭You made no estimated tax payments (or your only payments were West Virginia income tax withheld); or‬

‭2.‬ ‭You paid estimated tax and the payments were made in four equal installments on the due dates.‬

‭NOTE:‬ ‭If‬ ‭any‬ ‭of‬ ‭your‬ ‭payments‬ ‭were‬ ‭made‬ ‭earlier‬ ‭than‬‭the‬‭due‬‭date,‬‭you‬‭may‬‭use‬‭the‬‭short‬‭method‬‭to‬‭calculate‬‭your‬
‭penalty; however, using the short method may cause you to pay a higher penalty.‬

‭You may NOT use the short method if:‬

‭1.‬ ‭You made any estimated tax payments late; or‬

‭2.‬ ‭You checked the box on line 11 PART I, or used PART II (Annualized Income Worksheet).‬

‭If‬ ‭you‬ ‭use‬ ‭the‬ ‭short‬ ‭method,‬ ‭complete‬ ‭lines‬ ‭1‬ ‭through‬ ‭5‬ ‭to‬ ‭compute‬ ‭your‬ ‭total‬ ‭underpayment‬ ‭for‬ ‭the‬‭year‬‭and‬‭lines‬‭6‬
‭through 8 to compute your penalty due.‬

‭PART IV - Regular Method‬
‭Use the regular method to compute your penalty if you are not eligible to use the short method.‬

‭Section A – Calculate Your Underpayment‬
‭LINE‬‭1‬ ‭Enter‬‭in‬‭columns‬‭(a)‬‭through‬‭(d)‬‭the‬‭amount‬‭of‬‭your‬‭required‬‭installment‬‭for‬‭the‬‭due‬‭date‬‭shown‬‭in‬‭each‬‭column‬

‭heading.‬‭For‬‭most‬‭taxpayers,‬‭this‬‭is‬‭the‬‭amount‬‭shown‬‭on‬‭line‬‭8‬‭of‬‭PART‬‭I‬‭divided‬‭by‬‭four.‬‭If‬‭you‬‭used‬‭PART‬‭II,‬
‭enter the amounts from line 19 of the Annualized Income Worksheet in the appropriate columns.‬

‭LINE‬‭2‬ ‭Please‬ ‭read‬ ‭the‬ ‭following‬ ‭instructions‬ ‭carefully.‬ ‭Enter‬ ‭the‬ ‭estimated‬ ‭tax‬ ‭payments‬ ‭you‬ ‭made‬ ‭plus‬ ‭any‬ ‭West‬
‭Virginia income tax withheld from your income.‬

‭In‬ ‭column‬ ‭(a),‬ ‭enter‬‭all‬‭credit‬‭carried‬‭over‬‭from‬‭your‬‭prior‬‭year‬‭tax‬‭return,‬‭any‬‭withholding‬‭earned‬‭on‬‭or‬‭before‬
‭April‬ ‭15,‬ ‭of‬ ‭this‬ ‭year,‬‭and‬‭any‬‭estimated‬‭tax‬‭payments‬‭you‬‭made‬‭on‬‭or‬‭before‬‭April‬‭15‬‭for‬‭the‬‭current‬‭year‬‭tax‬
‭year.‬

‭In‬‭column‬‭(b),‬‭enter‬‭the‬‭withholding‬‭earned‬‭and‬‭estimated‬‭payments‬‭made‬‭after‬‭April‬‭15‬‭and‬‭on‬‭or‬‭before‬‭June‬
‭15.‬

‭In‬ ‭column‬ ‭(c),‬ ‭enter‬ ‭the‬ ‭withholding‬ ‭earned‬ ‭and‬ ‭any‬ ‭estimated‬ ‭payments‬ ‭you‬ ‭made‬ ‭after‬ ‭June‬ ‭15‬ ‭and‬ ‭on‬‭or‬
‭before September 15.‬

‭In‬ ‭column‬ ‭(d),‬ ‭enter‬ ‭the‬ ‭withholding‬ ‭earned‬‭and‬‭estimated‬‭payments‬‭you‬‭made‬‭after‬‭September‬‭15‬‭and‬‭on‬‭or‬
‭before January 15.‬

‭When calculating the amounts to enter on line 2 of each column, apply the following rules:‬

‭For‬ ‭West‬ ‭Virginia‬ ‭income‬ ‭tax‬ ‭withheld,‬ ‭you‬ ‭are‬‭considered‬‭to‬‭have‬‭paid‬‭one-fourth‬‭of‬‭these‬‭amounts‬‭on‬‭each‬
‭payment due date, unless you check the box on line 11 in Part I and show otherwise.‬

‭Include‬‭in‬‭your‬‭estimated‬‭tax‬‭payments‬‭any‬‭overpayment‬‭from‬‭your‬‭prior‬‭year‬‭West‬‭Virginia‬‭tax‬‭return‬‭that‬‭you‬
‭elected‬‭to‬‭apply‬‭to‬‭your‬‭current‬‭year‬‭estimated‬‭tax.‬‭If‬‭you‬‭filed‬‭your‬‭return‬‭by‬‭the‬‭due‬‭date‬‭(including‬‭extensions),‬
‭treat the overpayment as a payment made on April 15.‬

‭If‬ ‭you‬ ‭file‬ ‭your‬‭return‬‭and‬‭pay‬‭the‬‭tax‬‭due‬‭on‬‭or‬‭before‬‭February‬‭1,‬‭include‬‭the‬‭tax‬‭you‬‭pay‬‭with‬‭your‬‭return‬‭in‬
‭column (d) of line 2. In this case, you will not owe a penalty for the payment due January 18.‬

‭LINE 3‬ ‭Enter any overpayment from the previous column‬‭on line 3.‬

‭LINE 4‬ ‭Add lines 2 and 3 in each column and enter‬‭the result on line 4.‬

‭LINE 5‬ ‭Add lines 7 and 8 from the previous column‬‭and enter the result in each column.‬

‭LINE‬‭6‬ ‭Subtract‬‭line‬‭5‬‭from‬‭line‬‭4‬‭in‬‭each‬‭column‬‭and‬‭enter‬‭the‬‭result‬‭here.‬‭If‬‭line‬‭5‬‭is‬‭equal‬‭to‬‭or‬‭more‬‭than‬‭line‬‭4‬‭in‬‭any‬
‭column, enter zero in that column.‬

‭LINE 7‬ ‭Subtract line 4 from line 5 for any column‬‭where line 5 is more than line 4; otherwise, enter zero.‬
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‭LINE‬‭8‬ ‭Subtract‬‭line‬‭6‬‭from‬‭line‬‭1‬‭for‬‭any‬‭column‬‭where‬‭line‬‭1‬‭is‬‭more‬‭than‬‭line‬‭6;‬‭otherwise,‬‭enter‬‭zero.‬‭If‬‭line‬‭8‬‭is‬‭zero‬
‭for all payment periods, you do not owe a penalty.‬

‭LINE‬‭9‬ ‭Subtract‬‭line‬‭1‬‭from‬‭line‬‭6‬‭for‬‭any‬‭column‬‭for‬‭which‬‭line‬‭6‬‭is‬‭more‬‭than‬‭line‬‭1;‬‭otherwise,‬‭enter‬‭zero.‬‭Be‬‭sure‬‭to‬
‭enter the amount from line 9 on line 3 of the next column.‬

‭Section B – Compute Your Penalty‬
‭Compute‬‭the‬‭penalty‬‭by‬‭applying‬‭the‬‭appropriate‬‭rate‬‭against‬‭each‬‭underpayment‬‭on‬‭line‬‭8.‬‭The‬‭penalty‬‭is‬‭computed‬‭for‬
‭the number of days that the underpayment remains unpaid.‬

‭The annual rate  can be found in‬‭TSD 365‬‭.‬

‭For‬ ‭January‬ ‭1,‬ ‭2023‬ ‭to‬ ‭December‬ ‭31,‬ ‭2023‬ ‭the‬ ‭rate‬ ‭is‬ ‭11.5%.‬ ‭The‬ ‭resultant‬ ‭daily‬ ‭rate‬ ‭of‬ ‭0.000315‬ ‭is‬ ‭applied‬ ‭to‬ ‭all‬
‭underpayments.‬

‭For‬ ‭January‬ ‭1,‬ ‭2024‬ ‭to‬ ‭December‬ ‭31,‬ ‭2024‬ ‭the‬ ‭rate‬ ‭is‬ ‭13%.‬ ‭The‬ ‭resultant‬ ‭daily‬ ‭rate‬ ‭of‬ ‭0.000356‬ ‭is‬ ‭applied‬ ‭to‬ ‭all‬
‭underpayments.‬

‭Use‬‭line‬‭10‬‭to‬‭compute‬‭the‬‭number‬‭of‬‭days‬‭the‬‭underpayment‬‭remains‬‭unpaid.‬‭Use‬‭line‬‭12‬‭to‬‭compute‬‭the‬‭actual‬‭penalty‬
‭amount by applying the daily rate for tha quarter to the underpayment for the number of days it was unpaid.‬

‭Each‬‭payment‬‭must‬‭be‬‭applied‬‭to‬‭the‬‭oldest‬‭outstanding‬‭underpayment.‬‭It‬‭does‬‭not‬‭matter‬‭if‬‭you‬‭designate‬‭a‬‭payment‬‭for‬
‭a‬‭later‬‭period.‬‭For‬‭example,‬‭if‬‭you‬‭have‬‭an‬‭underpayment‬‭for‬‭September‬‭15‬‭installment‬‭period,‬‭the‬‭payment‬‭you‬‭make‬‭on‬
‭January‬‭18,‬‭2024‬‭will‬‭first‬‭be‬‭applied‬‭to‬‭pay‬‭off‬‭the‬‭September‬‭15‬‭underpayment;‬‭any‬‭remaining‬‭portion‬‭of‬‭the‬‭payment‬
‭will be applied to the January 18 installment.‬

‭Also, apply the following rules:‬

‭●‬ ‭Show‬‭the‬‭West‬‭Virginia‬‭withholding‬‭tax‬‭attributable‬‭to‬‭each‬‭regular‬‭installment‬‭due‬‭date;‬‭do‬‭not‬‭list‬‭the‬‭withholding‬
‭attributable on or after January 1.‬

‭●‬ ‭Any‬ ‭balance‬ ‭due‬ ‭paid‬ ‭on‬‭or‬‭before‬‭the‬‭due‬‭date‬‭with‬‭your‬‭personal‬‭income‬‭tax‬‭return‬‭is‬‭considered‬‭a‬‭payment‬
‭and‬ ‭should‬ ‭be‬ ‭listed‬ ‭on‬ ‭line‬ ‭2,‬ ‭column‬ ‭(d).‬ ‭For‬ ‭the‬‭payment‬‭date,‬‭use‬‭the‬‭date‬‭you‬‭file‬‭your‬‭return,‬‭or‬‭the‬‭due‬
‭date, whichever is earlier.‬

‭Chart of Total Days Per Rate Period‬
‭Rate Period‬ ‭Column‬ ‭Line 10‬ ‭Blended Daily Rate‬
‭Q1‬ ‭(a)‬ ‭364‬ ‭0.000327‬
‭Q2‬ ‭(b)‬ ‭306‬ ‭0.000329‬
‭Q3‬ ‭(c)‬ ‭214‬ ‭0.000335‬
‭Q4‬ ‭(d)‬ ‭92‬ ‭0.000356‬

‭For example, if you have an underpayment on line 8, column (a), you would enter 368 in column (a) of line 10.‬

‭The‬ ‭following‬ ‭line-by-line‬ ‭instructions‬ ‭apply‬ ‭only‬ ‭to‬ ‭column‬ ‭(a)‬ ‭of‬ ‭Section‬ ‭B.‬‭If‬‭there‬‭is‬‭an‬‭underpayment‬‭shown‬‭in‬‭any‬
‭other column on line 8, complete lines 10 through 12 in a similar fashion.‬

‭LINE‬‭10‬ ‭Enter‬‭in‬‭column‬‭(a)‬‭the‬‭total‬‭number‬‭of‬‭days‬‭from‬‭the‬‭due‬‭date‬‭of‬‭the‬‭estimated‬‭payment‬‭to‬‭the‬‭due‬‭date‬‭of‬‭the‬
‭return.‬‭For‬‭Example:‬ ‭If‬‭you‬‭have‬‭an‬‭underpayment‬‭on‬‭line‬‭8,‬‭column‬‭a,‬‭you‬‭would‬‭enter‬‭364‬‭in‬‭column‬‭(a)‬‭of‬‭line‬
‭10.‬

‭LINE 11‬ ‭The daily penalty rate is equal to the annual‬‭interest rate applied to tax underpayments divided by 365.‬
‭For‬ ‭Example:‬ ‭The‬ ‭annual‬ ‭interest‬ ‭rate‬‭for‬‭underpayments‬‭is‬‭11.5%‬‭for‬‭calendar‬‭year‬‭2023,‬‭resulting‬‭in‬‭a‬‭daily‬
‭rate‬ ‭of‬ ‭.000315,‬ ‭and‬ ‭is‬ ‭13.0%‬ ‭for‬ ‭calendar‬ ‭year‬ ‭2024,‬ ‭resulting‬ ‭in‬ ‭a‬ ‭daily‬ ‭rate‬ ‭of‬ ‭0.000356.‬ ‭If‬‭the‬‭estimated‬
‭payment‬ ‭remained‬ ‭unpaid‬ ‭until‬ ‭the‬ ‭due‬ ‭date‬ ‭of‬ ‭the‬ ‭return,‬ ‭the‬ ‭average‬ ‭blended‬ ‭daily‬ ‭rate‬ ‭of‬ ‭0.000327(see‬
‭above) would apply.‬

‭LINE‬‭12‬ ‭Make‬‭the‬‭computation‬‭requested‬‭and‬‭enter‬‭the‬‭result.‬‭Note‬‭that‬‭the‬‭computation‬‭calls‬‭for‬‭the‬‭“underpayment‬‭on‬
‭line 8”. The amount to use as the “underpayment” depends on whether or not a payment is listed.‬

‭If‬‭there‬‭is‬‭a‬‭payment‬‭–‬‭if‬‭the‬‭payment‬‭is‬‭more‬‭than‬‭the‬‭underpayment,‬‭apply‬‭only‬‭an‬‭amount‬‭equal‬‭to‬‭the‬‭underpayment‬
‭and‬‭apply‬‭the‬‭remainder‬‭to‬‭the‬‭tax‬‭due‬‭for‬‭the‬‭next‬‭quarter.‬‭If‬‭the‬‭payment‬‭is‬‭less‬‭than‬‭your‬‭underpayment,‬‭the‬‭penalty‬‭for‬
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‭the‬‭remaining‬‭underpayment‬‭will‬‭require‬‭a‬‭separate‬‭computation.‬‭Use‬‭a‬‭separate‬‭sheet‬‭of‬‭paper‬‭to‬‭show‬‭any‬‭additional‬
‭computations.‬

‭If there are no payments‬‭– the “underpayment” is the‬‭entire amount shown on line 8.‬

‭The following conditions determine if additional computations are needed for Column (a):‬
‭The‬ ‭first‬ ‭payment‬ ‭was‬ ‭enough‬ ‭to‬ ‭reduce‬ ‭the‬ ‭underpayment‬ ‭to‬ ‭zero.‬ ‭There‬ ‭are‬ ‭no‬ ‭further‬ ‭computations‬ ‭for‬
‭column (a).‬

‭No‬‭payments.‬‭Only‬‭one‬‭computation‬‭is‬‭needed.‬‭The‬‭penalty‬‭for‬‭column‬‭(a)‬‭is‬‭line‬‭8‬‭multiplied‬‭by‬‭the‬‭number‬‭of‬
‭days until the due date multiplied by line 11.‬

‭The‬‭payment‬‭did‬‭not‬‭reduce‬‭the‬‭underpayment‬‭to‬‭zero.‬‭Compute‬‭the‬‭penalty‬‭on‬‭the‬‭remaining‬‭underpayment‬‭on‬
‭a‬ ‭separate‬ ‭sheet‬ ‭of‬ ‭paper.‬ ‭If‬ ‭additional‬ ‭payments‬ ‭apply,‬ ‭reduce‬ ‭the‬ ‭underpayment‬ ‭for‬ ‭each‬ ‭installment‬ ‭and‬
‭compute the penalty on the remainder of tax due until paid or the due date, whichever is earlier.‬

‭Enter the total penalty calculation on line 12 and proceed to the next column.‬

‭Columns‬‭(b)‬‭through‬‭(d):‬ ‭To‬‭complete‬‭columns‬‭(b)‬‭through‬‭(d),‬‭use‬‭the‬‭same‬‭procedures‬‭as‬‭for‬‭column‬‭(a).‬‭However,‬
‭apply only those payments in each column which have not been used in a previous column.‬

‭LINE 13‬ ‭Add all figures from line 12.‬
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‭IT-210‬ ‭UNDERPAYMENT OF ESTIMATED TAX BY INDIVIDUALS‬

‭PART I: ALL FILERS MUST COMPLETE THIS PART‬

‭1. Enter your tax as shown on line 8 of Form IT-140 .......................................................................................‬ ‭1‬ ‭.00‬

‭2. Enter the credits against your tax from your return (See Instructions) ............‬ ‭2‬ ‭.00‬

‭3. Tax after credits (subtract line 2 from line 1) ..........................................................................................................‬ ‭3‬ ‭.00‬

‭4. Tax withheld ....................................................................................................‬ ‭4‬ ‭.00‬

‭5. Subtract line 4 from line 3 .......................................................................................................................................‬ ‭5‬ ‭.00‬

‭IF LINE 5 IS LESS THAN $600, DO NOT COMPLETE THIS FORM. YOU ARE NOT SUBJECT TO THE PENALTY.‬

‭6. Multiply line 3 by ninety percent (.90) ..............................................................‬ ‭6‬ ‭.00‬

‭7. Enter the tax after credits from your prior year  return (see instructions) ........‬ ‭7‬ ‭.00‬

‭8. Enter the smaller of line 6 or line 7 (if line 7 is zero and line 3 is more than $5,000, enter the amount shown on‬
‭line 6)‬ ‭8‬ ‭.00‬

‭9. If you are requesting a waiver of the penalty calculated, check here and attach your written request ………………………................................‬

‭10. If you are a qualified farmer , check here Also check the QUALIFIED FARMER box on the IT-140 return ............................................................‬

‭11.  If you used Part IV to apply the tax withheld to the period when the corresponding income was actually received rather‬
‭than in equal amounts on the payment due dates, check here...............................................................................................................................‬

‭REFER TO THE INSTRUCTIONS TO DETERMINE YOUR OPTIONS FOR CALCULATING THE‬
‭AMOUNT OF UNDERPAYMENT PENALTY.‬
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‭IT-210‬ ‭UNDERPAYMENT OF ESTIMATED TAX BY INDIVIDUALS‬
‭PART II: IF YOU ARE USING THE ANNUALIZED INCOME WORKSHEET‬

‭TO COMPUTE YOUR UNDERPAYMENT AND PENALTY, COMPLETE THE WORKSHEET BELOW.‬

‭ANNUALIZED INCOME WORKSHEET‬
‭January 1 -‬
‭March 31‬

‭January 1 -‬
‭May 31‬

‭January 1 -‬
‭August 31‬

‭January 1 -‬
‭December 31‬

‭1. Federal adjusted gross income year-to-date..........‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭2. Annualized amounts...............................................‬ ‭4‬ ‭2.4‬ ‭1.5‬ ‭1‬

‭3. Annualized income (line 1 X line 2)........................‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭4. West Virginia Modifications to income‬
‭(see instructions) ...................................................‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭5‬‭. West Virginia adjusted gross income (combine lines‬‭3 and 4)‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭6. Exemption allowance.............................................‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭7. West Virginia taxable income (see instructions)‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭8. Annualized tax........................................................‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭9. Credits against tax.................................................‬
‭DO NOT INCLUDE TAX WITHHELD OR ESTIMATED PAYMENTS!‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭10. TAX AFTER CREDITS. Subtract line 9 from line‬
‭8 (if less than zero, enter zero)‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭11. Applicable percentage......................................‬ ‭22.5%‬ ‭45%‬ ‭67.5%‬ ‭90%‬

‭12. REQUIRED PAYMENTS.‬
‭Multiply line 10 by line 11................................‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭13. Add the amounts in all previous columns of line‬
‭19‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭14. Subtract line 13 from line 12‬‭(if less than zero,‬
‭enter zero)‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭15. Enter ¼ of line 8, Part I, of Form IT-210 in each‬
‭column ……….....................................................‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭16. Enter the amount from line 18 of the previous‬
‭column of this worksheet......................................‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭17. Add lines 15 and 16 and enter total......................‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭18. Subtract line 14 from line 17 (if less than zero,‬
‭enter zero)‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭19. Enter the smaller of line 14 or line 17 here and‬
‭on Form IT-210, Part IV, line 1 .........................‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭NOTE: The sum of all columns for line 19 should equal line 8, Part I, of IT-210‬‭.‬
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‭IT-210‬ ‭Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals‬
‭PART III SHORT METHOD‬

‭Read the instructions to see if you can use the short method.‬
‭If you checked BOX 11 of PART I or annualized in PART II skip this part and go to PART IV.‬

‭1. Enter the amount from line 8 of Part I of IT-210 .............................................................................................................‬ ‭1‬ ‭.00‬

‭2. Enter the amount from line 4, Part I .........................................................................‬ ‭2‬ ‭.00‬

‭3. Enter the total, if any, of the estimated payments made .........................................‬ ‭3‬ ‭.00‬

‭4. Add lines 2 and 3............................................................................................................................................................‬ ‭4‬ ‭.00‬

‭5. Total underpayment for the year (subtract line 4 from line 1). If zero or less, stop here. No penalty due ........................‬ ‭5‬ ‭.00‬

‭6. Multiply line 5 by‬‭0.081089‬‭.............................................................................................................................................‬ ‭6‬ ‭.00‬

‭7. If the amount on line 5 was paid on or after the due date, enter zero. If paid prior to‬
‭the due date, multiply line 5 by the number of days it was paid before the due‬
‭date. Then multiply this total by the rate ..............................................................‬ ‭7‬ ‭.00‬

‭8. Penalty due (subtract line 7 from line 6) ……………………………………………………………………………………..‬ ‭8‬ ‭.00‬
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‭IT-210‬ ‭UNDERPAYMENT OF ESTIMATED TAX BY INDIVIDUALS‬
‭PART IV REGULAR METHOD‬

‭SECTION A – FIGURE THE UNDERPAYMENT‬
‭(a)‬

‭April 15*‬
‭(b)‬

‭June 15*‬
‭(c)‬

‭September 15*‬
‭(d)‬

‭January 15*‬

‭1.  If you are using the annualized method, enter the‬
‭amounts from line 19 of the Annualized Income‬
‭Worksheet; otherwise, enter 1/4 of line 8 of PART I‬
‭in each column.....................................................‬ ‭1‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭2.  Estimated tax paid and tax withheld (see‬
‭instructions). For column (a) only, enter the amount‬
‭from line 2 on line 6. If line 2 is equal to or more‬
‭than line 1 for all payment periods, stop here; you‬
‭do not owe any penalty..........................‬ ‭2‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭NOTE: Complete Lines 3 through 9 before going to the next column.‬

‭3.    Enter the amount, if any, from line 9 of the‬
‭previous column..................................................‬ ‭3‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭4.    Add lines 2 and 3.................................................‬ ‭4‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭5.    Add lines 7 and 8 of the previous column............‬ ‭5‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭6.    Subtract line 5 from line 4. If zero or less, enter‬
‭zero. For column (a) only, enter the amount from‬
‭line 2............................................................‬ ‭6‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭7.    If line 6 is zero, subtract line 4 from line 5.‬
‭Otherwise, enter zero..........................................‬ ‭7‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭8.    UNDERPAYMENT. If line 1 is equal to or more‬
‭than line 6, subtract line 6 from line 1, enter the‬
‭result here and go to line 3 of the next column.‬
‭Otherwise, go to line 9.........................................‬ ‭8‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭9.    OVERPAYMENT. If line 6 is more than line 1,‬
‭subtract line 1 from line 6, enter the result here‬
‭and go to line 3 of the next column.....................‬ ‭9‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭SECTION B – FIGURE THE PENALTY‬

‭NOTE: Complete Lines 10 through 12 for each column before going to the next column‬

‭10.  Number of days FROM the date shown at the top‬
‭of the column TO the date the amount on line 8‬
‭was paid, or 4/15, whichever is earlier‬

‭(a)‬
‭April 15‬

‭(b)‬
‭June 15‬

‭(c)‬
‭September 15‬

‭(d)‬
‭January 15‬

‭10‬

‭11.  Daily penalty rate for each quarter‬ ‭(See page‬
‭4 for rates)‬ ‭11‬

‭12. Penalty due for each quarter (line 8 x 10 x 11).....‬ ‭12‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬ ‭.00‬

‭13.  Penalty due (add all amounts on line 12) ………………………………………………………………………….‬ ‭13‬ ‭.00‬

‭*‬‭The exact closing‬‭day of each quarter may shift to accommodate weekends or holidays as permitted by code. If‬
‭unsure, please contact the West Virginia Tax Division to determine the payment deadlines for a certain tax year.‬
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