
    ADMINISTRATIVE NOTICE

SUBJECT: Consumers Sales and Service Tax and Use Tax - Commercial
Production of an Agricultural Product [110 C.S.R. 15; W.Va.
Code §§ 11-15-1 et seq. and 11-15A-1 et seq.]

Pursuant to regulations approved on January 10, 1990 by the Legislative
Rule-Making Review Committee, Section 110-15-2.15 of said regulations has been
modified to provide that persons may qualify for exemption from consumers sales
and service tax and use tax as commercial producers of agricultural products by
establishing that they have had annual sales of agricultural products of at least
one thousand dollars ($1,000).

This change was made in the proposed legislative rules for the consumers
sales and service tax and use tax which will be considered by the Legislature
during its Regular Session which began January 10, 1990. 

The emergency regulations for the consumers sales and service tax and use
tax which were promulgated July 5, 1989 (refiled August 14, 1989) will not be
formally amended by the Department of Tax and Revenue at this time.
Nevertheless, in light of the change of policy made by this modification to
Section 110-15-2.15 of the proposed regulations which have now been approved by
the Rule-Making Review Committee, the Department of Tax and Revenue will not
pursue compliance with or otherwise enforce the language in Section 110-15-2.15
of the emergency regulations which required commercial producers of agricultural
products, in order to claim the exemption to have produced on not less than five
acres of land, at least one thousand dollars ($1,000) of agricultural products
per annum through the conduct of the business of agricultural production as their
principle activity.  

If any person who now qualifies for the exemption has paid West Virginia
consumers sales and service tax or use tax on purchases due to their inability to
satisfy the definition contained in the emergency regulations, a claim for refund
or credit (WV/CST-240) along with proof of payment of the tax may be filed with
the Tax Commissioner.  Such claim must be filed within two (2) years from the
date the tax was paid.  See W.Va. Code § 11-10-14(l).

To order Form WV/CST-240, (as well as any form or publication) call our automated form order system and request
message #500.  Telephone numbers are (304) 344-2068 or 1-800-422-2075 toll free within West Virginia.  You may also
order this form by writing to: Taxpayer Services Division, P.O. Box 3784, Charleston, West Virginia 25337-3784.

   FOR ASSISTANCE CALL: (304) 348-3333 OR
   TOLL FREE WITHIN W.VA. 1-800-642-9016

___________________________________
       Charles O. Lorensen Date:  January 19, 1990
      State Tax Commissioner


