STATE OF WEST VIRGINIA
State Tax Department, Tax Account Administration Div

P.O. Box 425

Charleston, WV 25322-0425
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Account #:

Name

Address

City State Zip
WV/SEV-400W WASTE COAL
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WEST VIRGINIA SEVERANCE TAX ESTIMATE

Taxpayersrequired to file electronically will no longer receive returnsfor the tax types subject to the mandatory requirement
by mail. Pleasevisit www.wvtax.gov for additional information.

Period Ending:

Due Date:

See back of return for instructions and information.

SCHEDULE E - REPORT OF WASTE COAL PRODUCTION

Name of County of Production F|$3(;u(r;2/ o R Wgstte Coale‘;mdﬁcledt KEY TO COUNTY FIPS CODES
Oundto nearest Wnoleton | g4y garhoyr 023 Grant 045 Logan 067 Nicholas 089 Summers
00 003 Berkeley 025 Greenbrier 047 McDowell 069 Ohio 091 Taylor
. 005 Boone 027 Hampshire 049 Marion 071 Pendleton 093 Tucker
007 Braxton 029 Hancock 051 Marshall ~ 073 Pleasants 095 Tyler
00 009 Brooke 031 Hardy 053 Mason 075 Pocahontas 097 Upshur
- 011 Cabell 033 Harrison 055 Mercer 077 Preston 099 Wayne
00 013 Calhoun 035 Jackson 057 Mineral 079 Putnam 101 Webster
. 015 Clay 037 Jefferson 059 Mingo 081 Raleigh 103 Wetzel
00 017 Doddridge 039 Kanawha 061 Monongalia 083 Randolph 105 Wirt
. 019 Fayette 041 Lewis 063 Monroe 085 Ritchie 107 Wood
00 021 Gilmer 043 Lincoln 065 Morgan 087 Roane 109 Wyoming
SCHEDULE A - TAX COMPUTATIONS
1. Tota Gross Vaue of Recovered and Processed Waste Coal
2. Rate 0.025
3. Tax Due Before Credits (Multiply Line 1 by Line 2)
4. Investment Credits
5. $41.67 Per Month Annual Exemption *
6. Total Tax Due (Line 3 minusLines4 & 5)
* Only one annual exemption may be claimed for each business entity
Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this return (including accompanying schedules and statements), and to the
best of my knowledge and belief it istrue and complete.
(Signature of Taxpayer) (Name of Taxpayer - Type or Print) (Title) (Date)
(Person to Contact Concerning this Return) (Telephone Number)

(Signature of preparer other than taxpayer)

(Address)

(Date)

MAIL TO: WEST VIRGINIA STATE TAX DEPARTMENT
Tax Account Administration Div
P.O. Box 425, Charleston, WV 25322-0425
FOR ASSISTANCE CALL (304) 558-3333 TOLL FREE (800) 982-8297

For moreinformation visit our web site at: www.wvtax.gov

File online at https://mytaxes.wvtax.gov
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INSTRUCTIONS AND GENERAL INFORMATION 8§ 11-13A-3e

All persons extracting and processing material from refuse, gob piles or other sources of waste coal and producing coal
arerequired to file a quarterly waste coa severance tax return, form WV/SEV-400W, to report the total tons of waste
coal produced, the county in which the waste coal is recovered, and the total gross income received from the sale of the
waste coal. The severance tax rate is two and one-half percent (2.5%) of the total gross value of the recovered and
processed waste coal .

The waste coal tax appliesto all personsthat both (1) Extract material from coal refuse, gob piles or other sources of
waste coal located in this State, and (2) subsequently process, wash and prepare this extracted and recovered material
to produce cod for sale, profit or commercia use. Thetax isin addition to all other taxes imposed by law. Waste coal
production remains subject to both the three-cent per ton reclamation tax and the additional two-cent per ton special
tax for the funding of the Department of Environmental Protection. The new waste coal tax does not apply to any
electrical power co-generation plant burning material from its wholly owned refuse or gob pile.

For waste coal produced or processed prior to tax years beginning on or after April 13, 2001, the applicable tax isthe
greater of five percent (5%) of gross receipts or seventy-five cents ($ .75) per ton. Such tax should be included on your
monthly and annual coal severance tax returns. For waste coal produced or processed for tax years beginning on or
after April 13, 2001, the applicable tax is two and one-half percent (2.5%) of gross receipts. Thetax is paid quarterly
with an annual return filed at the end of the tax year. Example: Calendar year Taxpayerswill continue to pay at the
present rate until December 31, 2001. Beginning with January 1, 2002, those calendar year Taxpayers will report waste
coal production at the 2.5% rate on quarterly estimate returns and the annual return. The two and one-half percent
(2.5%) tax isin lieu of the five percent (5%) severance tax imposed on coal production and in lieu of the seventy-five
cents ($.75) per ton minimum severance tax imposed on coa production.

A Taxpayer must be both the extractor and the processor of the coal waste, and the coal waste must be processed into
material that is predominantly coal in order for the activity to qualify for the waste coal severance tax 2.5% rate. Coal
waste that is extracted but not processed, or that is processed into coal by an entity other than the extractor, remains
taxable at the 5% of gross receipts or 75 cents per ton tax rate.

If you file both the waste coal severance tax return, WV/SEV-401W and the coal severance tax return WV/SEV-401C,
you may claim only one $500.00 annual exemption. Y ou may claim the total exemption on one return, or pro-rate the
exemption on both returns.
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