WV /SEV-401C

Annual Coal Severance Tax Return Instructions

IMPORTANT INFORMATION: THE TAX DEPARTMENT WILL REJECT CLAIMS FOR REFUND OR CREDIT IF
ANY PART OF THE REQUIRED INFORMATION IS NOT PROVIDED WITH THE SEV-401C.

REQUIRED INFORMATION

e Current SEV-401-C Return

Isopach Maps: Must be submitted on or before the
due date of the return. Electronic copies of maps
are encouraged, preferably PDF files. These can be
attached in MyTaxes to the return when it is filed,
or a web notice, or sent as electronic media by mail.
Include the Low Seam Underground Coal Severance
Tax Schedule with Isopach map submission.

e Credit Schedules: Schedules must be attached to
the return. Credit claimed without schedules attached
to the return in MyTaxes will be disallowed.

e Current Power of Attorney (as needed)

e Sign and Date

SECTION A: TAX COMPUTATIONS

Enter the amount of the full year Investment
Credit in the second column.

Line 11 Credit for Coal Loading Facilities: Enter the
amount of the 12th month credit for Coal Loading
Facilities in the first column. Enter the amount of
the full year Coal Loading Facilities credit in the
second column. Include Schedule CL.

Line 12 Total Credit: Add lines 9 through 11 in the Full
Year column and report on Line 2 of Section A.

SECTION B: TAX COMPUTATIONS

Coal produced from refuse, gob piles, slurry ponds, pond
fines, or other sources of waste coal must be reported on
form WV/SEV-401W.

LOCAL TAX
(ALL COAL MINED, PROCESSED, OR SOLD)

Line 1 Total Tax Due: Enter the total from Line 33 of
Section B.

Total Credits: Enter the total from Line 12 of
Section TC.

Net Severance Tax Payable: Subtract Line 1
from Line 2 and enter total.

Total Payments Made For Periods: Enter the
total of estimated payments made for the year
and any carry forward credits from previous
years.

Total Tax Due: Enter the total of Line 3 minus
Line 4. If Line 4 is greater than Line 3, enter $0
and move to Line 6.

Line 2
Line 3

Line 4

Line 5

Line 6 Overpayment Amount: If line 4 is greater than
Line 3, subtract Line 5 from Line 4 and enter

total.

Amount To Be Credited To Next Year’'s Tax:
Enter the amount of Line 6 to be credited to next
year’s tax return.

Amount To Be Refunded: Enter the amount of
Line 6 to be refunded.

SECTION TC: TAX CREDITS

Line 7

Line 8

Line 9 Annual Credit: Enter $41.63 for 12th month
engaged in business in West Virginia in the first
column. Enter $500 per year or $41.67 per
month engaged in business in West Virginia in
the second column. Only one annual exemption

may be claimed by each business entity.

Line 10 Investment Credits: Enter the amount of the
12th month Investment Credit in the first column.

NOTE: The 0.35% local tax rate is not a new tax rate.
Legislative changes have made it necessary to
separate the 0.35% local and county tax from the

4.65% general tax.

Line 13 Gross Value: Enter the Gross Value of all coal
mined and value added from processed coal.

Line 14 Tax rate

Line 15 Total Local Tax: Multiply Line 13 x Line 14 and
enter total.

REGULAR COAL

This section is for coal that is not eligible for the Thin
Seam reduced rate.

SOLD TO ELECTRIC POWER PRODUCERS: Pursuant
to WV Code §11-13A-3, the reduced rate effective July 1,
2019 for coal sold to electric power producers.

SOLD TO OTHERS: Enter amounts for all coal produced
that is not eligible for a reduced rate. Note: All coal
produced before July 1, 2019 that is not eligible for the
Thin Seam reduced rate is subject to the higher rate of
4.65%.

Line 16 Tons Mined: Enter the total short tons mined
and sold to electric power producers in the first
column. The total short tons mined and sold to
others in the second column. For the first column,
this will only include coal produced from July 1,
2019 through Dec 31, 2019 and sold to electric
power producers.

Line 17 Tons Processed: Enter the total short tons
processed and sold to electric power producers in
the first column. The total short tons processed
and sold to all others in the second column.
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For the first column, this will only include coal
produced from July 1, 2019 through Dec 31,
2019 and sold to electric power producers.

Line 18 Total Tons: Add Line 16 to Line 17 of each
column and enter total.

Line 19 Gross Value: Enter the total gross value for all
coal mined and all value added from processed
coal. Coal sold to electric power producers should
be entered in the first column. Coal sold to other
purchasers should be entered in the second
column. For the first column, this will only include
coal produced from July 1, 2019 through Dec 31,
2019 and sold to electric power producers.

Line 20 Tax rates

Line 21 Net State Severance Tax: Multiply Line 19 by
Line 20 and enter total.

Line 22 Minimum Tax: Multiply Line 18 by 0.75 and
enter total.

Line 23 Enter the greater of Line 21 or Line 22 for each
column.

Line 24 Total Regular Severance: Add both columns on
line 23 and enter total.

THIN SEAM 37” TO 45”
NOTE: ONLY QUALIFIED THIN SEAM COAL IS TO BE
REPORTED ON LINES 25 THROUGH 32.

Line 25 Tons Mined: Enter total short tons of coal
qualified as thin seam 37" to 45".

Line 26 Gross Value: Enter total gross value of coal
qualified as thin seam 37" to 45".

Line 27 Tax rate.

Line 28 Total Tax: Multiply Line 26 by Line 27 and enter
total.

THIN SEAM UNDER 37”
NOTE: ONLY QUALIFIED THIN SEAM COAL IS TO BE
REPORTED ON LINES 25 THROUGH 32.

Line 29 Tons Mined: Enter total short tons of coal
qualified as thin seam less than 37".

Line 30 Gross Value: Enter total gross value of coal
qualified as thin seam less than 37".

Line 31 Tax Rate.

Line 32 Total Tax: Multiply Line 30 by Line 31 and enter
total.

TOTAL TAX DUE

Line 33 TOTAL TAX DUE: Add Lines 15, 24, 28, and 32
and enter total. Enter this figure on Section A,
Line 1.

To receive the reduced severance tax rate for thin
seam coal (underground mines only), an Isopach
Map for each mining permit must be submitted
on or before the due date of the return. The
Isopach Map must be signed and certified by a
professional engineer. Failure to provide a copy of
the Isopach Map will result in the recalculation of

NOTE:

your tax at the (4.65%) rate. Information can be
found in Interpretive Rule 110-13AB.

SECTION C: SEVERANCE TAX
COMPUTATION 12TH MONTH PERIOD

Line 34 Gross Value of Severed Coal: Enter gross value
of coal severed from seams greater than 45” and
not sold to electric power producers during the
12th month period in Column 1. Multiply Column
1 by Column 2 and enter total in Column 3.

Line 35 Value Added from Processed Coal: Enter the
difference between the price the unprocessed coal
was purchased for and the price the processed
coal was sold for during the 12th month period
in Column 1. Multiply Column 1 by Column 2 and
enter total in Column 3.

Line 36 Coal Sold to Electric Power Producers: Enter
gross value of coal severed from seams greater
than 45" and sold to electric power producers
during the 12th month period in Column 1.
Multiply Column 1 by Column 2 and enter total in
Column 3.

Line 37 Qualified Thin Seam 37" to 45": Enter gross
value of coal severed from seams between 37"
and 45" during the 12th month period in Column
1. Multiply Column 1 by Column 2 and enter total
in Column 3.

Line 38 Qualified Thin Seam Less Than 37”: Enter
gross value of coal severed from seams less than
37" during the 12th month period in Column 1.
Multiply Column 1 by Column 2 and enter total in
Column 3.

Line 39 Gross Value to be Taxed: Sum all lines in
Column 1 and enter total.

Line 40 Total Tax Due: Sum all lines in Column 3 and
enter total.

SECTION E: REPORT OF COAL PRODUCTION
FOR TAXABLE YEAR

This section must be completed by all producers.
Processors of purchased coal are not subject to Section E
production. All tonnage must be reported along with the
county in which the coal was extracted. Use a separate
line for each mining permit/county of production. If you
produce coal from waste sources, the tonnage is to be
reported on WV/SEV-401W Waste Coal return.

Column 1 Mining Permit: Enter the mining permit for
the mine from which the coal was severed.

Name of County: Enter the name of the
county in which the coal was located when
it was severed from the ground. Include all
counties where coal was severed from the
ground for the period being reported, including
qualified thin seam coal. If additional space is
needed, please attach a separate sheet with
your return.

County FIPS Code: Enter the county FIPS
code from the key code below Section E.

Column 2

Column 3
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Please ensure the county code printed on your
return is where the coal was severed from the
ground. All counties must be reported.

Tons Produced in 12th Month: Enter the
total tons produced for the 12th month period.
Round all tons to the nearest whole ton. Do
not include decimal points or fractions.

Total Tons Produced Annually: Enter the
total tons produced for the Full Year. Round all
tons to the nearest whole ton. Do not include
decimal points or fractions.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Column 4

Column 5

$500 ANNUAL EXEMPTION

This exemption is allowed only for the period you were
in business. The exemption may exceed the adjusted
tax but will not result in a refund. A refund is the result
of excessive actual tax paid. Only one exemption, not
to exceed $500.00 per year, may be claimed by each
business entity although you may operate more than
one location or file more than one type of Severance Tax
return.

Example: The exemption per month is $41.67 and per
day is $1.37. If you were in business July 27
through December 31, 2007, your exemption
is $215.00 ($41.67 x 5 months = $208.35
and $1.37 x 5 days = $6.85, rounded to the
nearest dollar).

NON-WAIVABLE INTEREST

For tax that is not paid by the due date of the tax return,
interest will accrue at an adjusted rate established by the
Tax Commissioner. An extension to file a return is not an
extension to pay. The annual rate will never be less than
eight percent (8%). The interest rate will be determined
and in effect for periods of six months. If there are any
questions, please refer to TSD-365 on our website at tax.
WV.gov.

ADDITIONS TO TAX

Additions to tax are imposed for failure to file the return
on or before the due date and for failure to pay all tax due
on or before the due date of the tax return (without regard

to an extension of time to file). The rate for late filing is
five percent (5%) per month or any part of a month. The
rate for late payment of tax is one half of one percent
(0.5%) per month or any part of a month. An extension
of time for filing does not extend the time for payment of
tax. Where both the five percent penalty for late filing and
one half of one percent penalty for late payment of tax are
imposed, the maximum monthly percent is five percent
(5%), the maximum amount of additions to tax imposed
under either penalty is twenty-five percent (25%); the
maximum amount under both penalties is fifty percent
(50%) of the tax due. If there are any questions, please
refer to TSD-365 on our website at tax.wv.gov.

Penalty for Underpayment of Estimated Tax:

Any person required to make monthly or quarterly
payments of an annual tax and fails to make a timely
payment or remits less than the required amount is
subject to additions to tax. No additions are imposed if
a quarterly taxpayer timely pays estimated tax equal to
three-fourths (.75) or more of the actual tax liability. No
additions are imposed if a monthly taxpayer timely pays
estimated tax equal to eleven-twelfths (.92) or more of
the actual tax liability. The amount of the underpayment is
determined to be the difference between the amount that
should have been paid and that which was actually paid.
The period of underpayment of an installment is from
the due date of the installment payment to the earlier of
either the due date of the annual return for the taxable
year or the date upon which such portion is paid.

CREDIT FOR COAL LOADING FACILITIES
(11-13E)

This credit is available to taxpayers subject to severance
tax. The credit is based on purchases of real or personal
property or a combination thereof, for the purpose of
building or constructing a new or expanded coal loading
facility or who revitalize an existing coal loading facility
which was in the state on April 1, 1983. The facility is to be
used solely for the purpose of transferring coal from a coal
processing or preparation facility, or from a coal storage
facility, or both, or from any means of transportation, to
any means of rail or barge transportation used to move
coal, including such land as is directly associated with and
solely used for the coal loading facility. The coal loading
facility credit attributable to investment made on or after
March 1, 1985 is limited to fifty percent (50%) of the
gross tax payable for Severance Tax.

Forms and schedules may be obtained from our website at tax.wv.gov.
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