

### **West Virginia State Tax**

TSD-375

(Revised December 2019)

### SALES TAX FOR SUMMER CAMPS

This publication provides general information. It is not a substitute for tax laws or regulations.

## GENERAL INFORMATION

- When school ends, many children and teens head for summer camps, summer meaning when schools
  are in summer recess. The camps are as varied as their participants. Programs, locations, and length
  of stay may differ, but when a fee is charged, all or part of the fee is subject to West Virginia's sales
  tax
- In general, regardless of the sponsor, amounts charged to attend summer camp in West Virginia are subject to sales tax. Accordingly, colleges, universities, local governments, and other agencies must charge and collect sales tax on camper fees. The exception is "tuition" charged to attend educational "summer" camps.

# EXEMPT TUITION WITH TAXABLE CHARGES

- The tuition exception is limited to educational summer camps where the participants spend a substantial amount of time receiving instruction. Education includes all subjects traditionally taught in school, along with instruction for the intellectual, moral, and physical development of the campers. Scout camps, 4-H camps, music, art, science, computer, religious study, math, and other similar camps are examples of educational summer camps.
- In order to qualify for exemption, tuition must be separately stated. For example, if a week of camping, including tuition, food, lodging, and other services costs \$100.00, sales tax is due on the entire \$100.00. If, however, the \$100.00, fee is broken down as \$25.00 for tuition, and \$75.00 for all other goods and services, tax is due on \$75.00 only.
- Examples of taxable charges are those for food, lodging, equipment, clothing, books and other study
  materials not directly related to the educational nature of the summer camp.

#### TAXABLE TUITION AND OTHER CHARGES

Camps for the primary purposes of training in athletics, sports training or physical conditioning are not considered educational summer camps and all fees charged are subject to sales tax. Also, summer camps primarily related to paramilitary training or animal training are not exempt.

#### **PURCHASES**

 The following publications are available and may be helpful for general information regarding sales tax on purchases of goods and services by summer camps: TSD-320 Sales and Use Tax for Nonprofit Organizations; TSD-335, Sales and Use Tax Changes Affecting Service Businesses; TSD-369, Use Tax and Your Business.

# ASSISTANCE AND ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

For assistance or additional information, you may call a Taxpayer Service Representative at:

1-800-WVA-TAXS (1-800-982-8297)

Or visit our website at:

www.tax.wv.gov

File and pay taxes online at:

https://mytaxes.wvtax.gov

Email questions to:

taxhelp@wv.gov